Saturday, May 19, 2018

Clutch stream lead single from new album Book Of Bad Decisions

Clutch are streaming a lyric video for “Gimme The Keys”, the lead single from their forthcoming album “Book Of Bad Decisions.”

The song’s inspiration dates back to an incident on the Maryland band’s first tour in 1991, when a show in a shed surrounded by cornfields in Lawrence, KS ultimately turned ugly over a missing microphone and accusations brought by drunk and gun-toting security people at the end of a long day.

Frontman Neil Fallon explains that he drew on some of the group’s past experiences to provide lyrical inspiration for the follow-up to 2015’s “Psychic Warfare.”

“I’ve never been one for nostalgia,” says Fallon. “I’ve always shied away from it. But after 27 years of this, I realize that there is a wealth of stories to look back upon as lyrical fodder. As the saying goes, ‘You don’t know where you’re going until you know where you’ve been.’ Not all the songs reference our collective experience as a band, but ‘Book Of Bad Decisions’ seemed like an apt name for these various chapters, whether factual, fictitious, or somewhere in-between.”

Due September 7, the project was recorded at Sputnik Sound in Nashville, TN by producer Vance Powell (Jack White, Chris Stapleton, The Raconteurs, The Dead Weather).

“Recording in Nashville with Vance Powell gave us a new and fresh approach towards making an album that truly captures the live energy of Clutch in a way I don’t think we’ve done before,” raves bassist Dan Maines.

“With Vance Powell as producer,” adds drummer Jean-Paul Gaster, “we were able to make a very different kind of an album. The songs feel as if they could jump out of the speakers!”

“Book Of Bad Decisions” will be available in multiple formats, including digital download, CD, 24-page book with CD, 2xLP Standard Black, Limited Colored 2xLP, and 2xLP Picture Disc; in addition, Clutch will release two very limited 7” Picture Discs from the set.

Clutch will play Rocklahoma in Pryor, OK on May 26 before heading to Europe for a few festival dates this summer, returning to host their second annual Earth Rocker Festival at Shiley Acres in Inwood, WV on August 4.

“Book Of Bad Decisions”

Release date: September 7

01. Gimme The Keys
02. Spirit Of '76
03. Book Of Bad Decisions
04. How To Shake Hands
05. In Walks Barbarella
06. Vision Quest
07. Weird Times
08. Emily Dickinson
09. Sonic Counselor
10. A Good Fire
11. Ghoul Wrangler
12. HB Is In Control
13. Hot Bottom Feeder
14. Paper & Strife
15. Lorelei

See also:

VIDEO: Clutch discuss recording new album in Nashville
Clutch announce second annual Earth Rocker Festival
Clutch announce UK and European tour
Clutch announce spring US tour dates
Search Clutch at hennemusic