Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Alice In Chains detail Rainier Fog album and stream new single So Far Under

Alice In Chains are streaming audio of the new single, “So Far Under”, as the latest preview to the August 24 release of their sixth album, “Rainier Fog.”

“It’s about feeling completely up against it - outnumbered, surrounded, facing seemingly unbeatable odds and being really pissed off about it,” explains vocalist/guitarist William DuVall. “It was inspired by personal circumstances, as well as events in the wider world. But it’s not as resigned to defeat as it may seem. The lyric is a cold, hard assessment of a difficult situation but the music has a message all its own. There’s still room to flip the script.

“Every aspect of writing and recording this song will always be remembered with a lot of joy - from recording the basic tracks and the guitar solo at Studio X in Seattle to doing further overdubs at Nick Raskulinecz’s studio in rural Tennessee. Everyone in the band and our studio team really stepped up and knocked it out of the park on this one. We’re extremely proud of this song and the entire album.”

“So Far Under” follows the lead single, “The One You Know”, as the second tune issued ahead of the project’s late summer arrival.

"Rainier Fog" marks a few firsts for Alice In Chains: in addition to being their first album in five years, it’s their first album for BMG and their first time recording in their hometown of Seattle in more than 20 years (worth noting that the album title is a tribute to Seattle).

The group recorded at Studio X, the same facility where they tracked 1995’s self-titled “Alice In Chains” album (back when the studio was known as Bad Animals); the recording process also saw the band spend time at Henson Recording Studios in Los Angeles and at the Nashville studio of producer Nick Raskulinecz.

“Rainier Fog” will be available digitally, as well as on CD and limited-edition double 180-gram clear LP with white and black splatter - available only from the band’s online store.

The set marks the follow-up to 2013’s “The Devil Put Dinosaurs Here”, which debuted at No. 2 on the US Billboard 200 upon its release in 2013.

Alice In Chains are currently playing dates on a summer tour of Europe; they’ll begin a fall run across North America in Vancouver, BC on August 22.

Alice In Chains
"Rainier Fog"

Release date: August 24

01. The One You Know
02. Rainier Fog
03. Red Giant
04. Fly
05. Drone
06. Deaf Ears Blind Eyes
07. Maybe
08. So Far Under
09. Never Fade
10. All I Am

See also:

Alice In Chains expand fall North American tour
VIDEO: Alice In Chains perform live debut of new single at Carolina Rebellion
Alice In Chains reveal inspiration behind The One You Know
VIDEO: Alice In Chains premiere new single The One You Know
Search Alice In Chains at hennemusic