Friday, August 17, 2018

Eric Clapton announces Christmas album release

Eric Clapton will release his first full-length Christmas album, “Happy Xmas”, on October 12.

Billboard reports the project’s 14 tracks are a mix of standards - including “White Christmas,” “Silent Night” and "Away In A Manger" - and lesser known holiday tunes alongside a new original song, “For Love On Christmas Day.”

The legendary guitarist dedicated his take on “Jingle Bells" to the "memory of Avicii," the Swedish DJ who was found dead in Muscat, Oman from an apparent suicide in April.

"I had in my head that these holiday songs could be done with a slight blues tinge, and I started to figure out how to play the blues lines in between the vocals,” says Clapton. “I got it down and one of the most identifiable songs on the album, the one that became the foundational style, is ‘Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas.’”

Clapton co-produced “Happy Xmas” with Simon Climie, as well as providing an illustration of Santa Claus for the record’s cover.

The guitarist recently played a sold-out show at London’s Hyde Park, and will return to live action with two dates at New York’s Madison Square Garden this fall.

Eric Clapton
“Happy Xmas”

Release date: October 12

01. White Christmas
02. Away In A Manger (Once In Royal David’s City)
03. For Love On Christmas Day
04. Everyday Will Be Like A Holiday
05. Christmas Tears
06. Home For The Holidays
07. Jingle Bells (In Memory Of Avicii)
08. Christmas In My Hometown
09. It’s Christmas
10. Sentimental Moments
11. Lonesome Christmas
12. Silent Night
13. Merry Christmas Baby
14. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas

See also:

VIDEO: Eric Clapton performs Slowhand rarity at Greenwich Town Party
Eric Clapton: Life In 12 Bars film and soundtrack get spring release
Eric Clapton announces only North American shows of 2018
VIDEO: Eric Clapton rocks Beatles classic on George Harrison tribute concert reissue
Search Eric Clapton at hennemusic