Thursday, August 30, 2018

Steven Tyler streams classic Rolling Stones cover from Muscle Shoals tribute album

Aerosmith’s Steven Tyler and Extreme’s Nuno Bettencourt are streaming their cover of The Rolling Stones' 1971 classic, “Brown Sugar”, as a preview to the September 28 release of an all-star tribute album to the sounds of Muscle Shoals, Alabama.

The Rolling Stones originally recorded the song at Muscle Shoals Sound Studio at the end of 1969 for inclusion on their 1971 album, “Sticky Fingers”; the lead single from the project was a No. 1 US hit for the band.

“Muscle Shoals…Small Town, Big Sound” presents a collection of covers of songs recorded by Chris Stapleton, Grace Potter, Kid Rock, Alan Jackson, and many others at the iconic recording venue and nearby FAME Studios throughout the fifties, sixties, and seventies in celebration of the 60th anniversary of the “Muscle Shoals Sound.”

The package also serves as a tribute to FAME studio founder and “The Father of the Muscle Shoals Sound” Rick Hall following his passing in January from prostate cancer at the age of 85; organized by his son and current studio co-owner Rodney Hall and producer Keith Stegall, the set includes some of the late owner’s final productions.

“This record has been a full circle for me,” says Stegall. “It’s the music I grew up on and that impassioned me to become a writer and a record producer and the music to which I owe my love and deepest respect.”

Dedicated to Rick Hall’s memory, a portion of the proceeds benefit the Grammy Foundation as well as the Muscle Shoals Music Association and The Muscle Shoals Music Foundation.

Tyler and Aerosmith recently announced details for a spring 2019 Las Vegas residency; the "Deuces Are Wild" series will see the Boston rockers perform an 18-date run at the Park Theater at the new Park MGM resort in Las Vegas beginning Saturday, April 6, 2019.

Producer Giles Martin has been brought in to oversee a production that promises “one of the most immersive, state-of-the art audio and video technology experiences in Las Vegas,” featuring never-seen-before content from the group.

Various Artists
“Muscle Shoals…Small Town, Big Sound”

Release date: September 28

01. Keb’ Mo’ – “The Road Of Love,”
02. Grace Potter – “I’d Rather Go Blind”
03. Steven Tyler & Nuno Bettencourt – “Brown Sugar”
04. Jamey Johnson, Willie Nelson, Chris Stapleton & Lee Ann Womack – “Gotta Serve Somebody”
05. Eli “Paperboy” Reed – “Steal Away”
06. Kid Rock – “Snatching It Back”
07. Aloe Blacc – “I’ll Take You There”
08. Michael McDonald – “Cry Like A Rainy Day”
09. Vince Gill & Wendy Moten – “True Love”
10. Alison Krauss – “Come And Go Blues”
11. Mike Farris with The Blind Boys of Alabama – “Respect Yourself”
12. Alan Jackson – “Wild Horses”
13. Brently Stephen Smith of Shinedown – “Mustang Sally”
14. Chord Overstreet – “We’ve Got Tonight”
15. Tom Johnston & Delbert McClinton – “Giving It Up For Your Love”
16. Candi Staton with Jason Isbell & John Paul White – “I Ain’t Easy To Love”

See also:

VIDEO: Aerosmith rocks the MTV Video Music Awards with Post Malone
VIDEO: Aerosmith performs Mama Kin on The Tonight Show
Aerosmith announces Deuces Are Wild Las Vegas residency
Aerosmith to perform on The Tonight Show
Search Aerosmith at hennemusic