Tuesday, August 28, 2018

The Band stream Music From Big Pink reissue classic The Weight

The Band are streaming a 2018 remix of their classic track, “The Weight”, as the latest preview to the August 31 release of multiple 50th Anniversary editions of their 1968 debut, “Music From Big Pink.”

Written by guitarist Robbie Robertson, “The Weight” was the only single issued from the influential album; the song peaked at No. 63 on the US Billboard Hot 100 while the project hit No. 30 on the Billboard 200.

"It's so deeply ingrained and so familiar," Robertson tells Billboard about the debut, "and revisiting it, knowing that this record has taken on a musical, historic place, I was listening to it differently, and with a lot of satisfaction. There is such a deep soul in that period of The Band, making music that still has the same magnet that I hoped it would have back then.

“When we made this record and played it for friends and for the record company, they had no idea what we were doing; You could see on people's faces that look of being so unsure of what they were hearing. It was a little bit spooky to me, but...it's stood that test of time very well."

“Music From Big Pink” was recorded by producer John Simon over two weeks after songwriting sessions at the “Big Pink” house in upstate New York.

The newly-remixed and expanded 50th Anniversary Edition packages include a Super Deluxe CD/Blu-ray/2LP/7-inch vinyl box set with a hardbound book; 1CD, digital, 180-gram 2LP black vinyl, and limited edition 180-gram 2LP pink vinyl sets.

All configurations feature a new stereo mix for the album produced by Bob Clearmountain from the original four-track analog masters, achieving a striking clarity and incorporating some previously unreleased chatter from the studio sessions.

The Band
“Music From Big Pink (50th Anniversary Edition)”

Release date: August 31

01. Tears Of Rage
02. To Kingdom Come
03. In A Station
04. Caledonia Mission
05. The Weight
06. We Can Talk
07. Long Black Veil
08. Chest Fever
09. Lonesome Suzie
10. This Wheel’s On Fire
11. I Shall Be Released

Bonus Tracks

12. Yazoo Street Scandal (Outtake)
13. Tears Of Rage (Alternate Take)
14. Long Distance Operator (Outtake)
15. Lonesome Suzie (Alternate Take)
16. Key To The Highway (Outtake)
17. I Shall Be Released (A Cappella)

See also:

The Band stream track from Music From Big Pink 50th Anniversary reissue
The Band announce Music From Big Pink 50th Anniversary release
VIDEO: Jimmy Fallon and The Muppets perform classic by The Band
VIDEO: The Black Keys & John Fogerty pay tribute to The Band’s Levon Helm
Search The Band at hennemusic