Monday, August 20, 2018

The Band stream track from Music From Big Pink 50th Anniversary reissue

The Band are streaming a 2018 remix of “This Wheel’s On Fire” as preview to the August 31 release of multiple 50th Anniversary editions of their 1968 debut, “Music From Big Pink.”

Written by bassist Rick Danko and Bob Dylan and first recorded during their famous 1967 sessions with The Band, the track appeared on the group’s debut before the original version resurfaced years later on 1975’s “The Basement Tapes.”

“This Wheel’s On Fire” was also the title of drummer Levon Helm’s 1993 autobiography, where the rocker noted: "We wanted Music From Big Pink to sound like nothing anyone else was doing. This was our music, honed in isolation from the radio and contemporary trends."

The Dylan connection was furthered on The Band’s debut, which included three songs written or co-written by the singer, whose painting was used as the set’s cover art.

“Music From Big Pink” was recorded by producer John Simon over two weeks after songwriting sessions at the “Big Pink” house in upstate New York.

The newly-remixed and expanded 50th Anniversary Edition packages include a Super Deluxe CD/Blu-ray/2LP/7-inch vinyl box set with a hardbound book; 1CD, digital, 180-gram 2LP black vinyl, and limited edition 180-gram 2LP pink vinyl sets.

All configurations feature a new stereo mix for the album produced by Bob Clearmountain from the original four-track analog masters, achieving a striking clarity and incorporating some previously unreleased chatter from the studio sessions.

The Band
“Music From Big Pink (50th Anniversary Edition)”

Release date: August 31

01. Tears Of Rage
02. To Kingdom Come
03. In A Station
04. Caledonia Mission
05. The Weight
06. We Can Talk
07. Long Black Veil
08. Chest Fever
09. Lonesome Suzie
10. This Wheel’s On Fire
11. I Shall Be Released

Bonus Tracks

12. Yazoo Street Scandal (Outtake)
13. Tears Of Rage (Alternate Take)
14. Long Distance Operator (Outtake)
15. Lonesome Suzie (Alternate Take)
16. Key To The Highway (Outtake)
17. I Shall Be Released (A Cappella)

See also:

The Band announce Music From Big Pink 50th Anniversary release
VIDEO: Jimmy Fallon and The Muppets perform classic by The Band
VIDEO: The Black Keys & John Fogerty pay tribute to The Band’s Levon Helm
Robbie Robertson to write autobiography
Search The Band at hennemusic