Thursday, September 6, 2018

Queen to release Bohemian Rhapsody film soundtrack

Queen will release the soundtrack album to their biopic “Bohemian Rhapsody” on October 19.

Directed by Dexter Fletcher, the film stars Rami Malek as Freddie Mercury and follows Queen from their creation in 1970 – when the singer teamed up with guitarist Brian May and drummer Roger Taylor – to the band’s iconic 1985 performance at Live Aid.

Arriving two weeks ahead of the film’s arrival in cinemas on November 2, the project mixes classic live and studio tracks with previously-unavailable Queen performances from Live Aid.

The five tracks from Queen's 21-minute performance at the charity concert – “Bohemian Rhapsody”, “Radio Ga Ga”, “Hammer To Fall” and “We Are The Champions” – have never been released in audio form before; they were previously issued on video as a special extra on the DVD/BluRay release of "Queen Rock Montreal", which features the Montreal Forum shows of November 1981.

Among the rarities included in the package is a newly-recorded version of the song “Doing All Right” by members of Smile, the predecessor to Queen that featured May and Taylor with vocalist Tim Staffell. Almost 50 years after the original Smile recording, the three players reunited at Abbey Road Studios to recreate the original version of the tune, which Queen recorded for inclusion on their 1973 self-titled debut album.

Queen have also recorded a new version of “We Will Rock You” that syncs up with the film; the mix starts out as the studio take and then seamlessly blends into a live performance with audience participation.

A live video for “Now I’m Here” from the 2015 package, “A Night At The Odeon - Hammersmith 1975” – whose audio is featured on the soundtrack - is serving as the first preview of the set.

Queen and Adam Lambert recently opened a 10-show residency in Las Vegas; billed as “The Crown Jewels”, the band kicked off the limited engagement at the Park Theater at the Park MGM with a 22-song set spanning the legendary UK group’s career.

“Bohemian Rhapsody” original soundtrack

Release date: October 19

01. 20th Century Fox Fanfare
02. Somebody To Love
03. Doing All Right... revisited (Performed by Smile)
04. Keep Yourself Alive (Live At The Rainbow)
05. Killer Queen
06. Fat Bottomed Girls (Live In Paris)
07. Bohemian Rhapsody
08. Now I'm Here (Live At Hammersmith Odeon)
09. Crazy Little Thing Called Love
10. Love Of My Life (Rock In Rio)
11. We Will Rock You (Movie Mix)
12. Another One Bites The Dust
13. I Want To Break Free
14. Under Pressure (Performed by Queen & David Bowie)
15. Who Wants To Live Forever
16. Bohemian Rhapsody (Live Aid)
17. Radio Ga Ga (Live Aid)
18. Ay-Oh (Live Aid)
19. Hammer To Fall (Live Aid)
20. We Are The Champions (Live Aid)
21. Don't Stop Me Now… revisited
22. The Show Must Go On

See also:

VIDEO: Rami Malek discusses Freddie Mercury role in Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody biopic
VIDEO: Queen and Adam Lambert open Crown Jewels residency in Las Vegas
VIDEO: Queen release full trailer for Bohemian Rhapsody biopic
VIDEO: Queen and Adam Lambert open European tour in Lisbon
Search Queen at hennemusic