Wednesday, November 7, 2018

John Mellencamp premieres video for Eyes On The Prize

John Mellencamp is premiering a video for “Eyes On The Prize”, the lead single from his forthcoming album, “Other People’s Stuff.”

A variation of the traditional folk song “Gospel Plow”, the Indiana rocker originally performed the tune in 2010 as part of The White House Celebration of Music from the Civil Rights Movement special.

“Protest songs can still make a difference,” says the singer about the first preview to the December 7 release of his 24th studio album, which delivers a collection of classic tracks culled from seminal albums, compilations, unearthed sessions and documentaries.

“Most, if not all, of the songs on Other People’s Stuff come from The Great American Songbook,” explains Mellencamp. “These are songs that have been recorded over the last 40 years of my career, but had never been put together as one piece of work. Now, they have.”

Fans will be able to experience material from the project on a recently-expanded 2019 US tour, dubbed “The John Mellencamp Show”, which will begin in South Bend, IN on February 7. VIP tickets and an American Express presale are available now and until Thursday, November 8 at 10:00pm local time, with general public tickets set to go on sale Friday, November 9 at 10:00am local time (except 11am in Green Bay).

Full ticket details by show are available at

John Mellencamp
“Other People’s Stuff”

Release date: December 7

01. “To The River” (originally from 1993’s Human Wheels)
02. “Gambling Bar Room Blues” (originally from 1997’s The Songs of Jimmie Rodgers – A Tribute)
03. “Teardrops Will Fall” (originally from 2003’s Trouble No More)
04. “In My Time of Dying” (originally from 1997’s Rough Harvest)
05. “Mobile Blue” (originally from 2017’s Sad Clowns & Hillbillies)
06. “Eyes On The Prize” (originally performed at The White House in 2010)
07. “Dark As A Dungeon (originally from the 2017 National Geographic Channel documentary From the Ashes)
08. “Stones in My Passway” (originally from 2003’s Trouble No More)
09. “Wreck of the Old 97” (originally from 2004’s The Rose and The Briar)
10. “I Don’t Know Why I Love You” (originally from 2003’s An Interpretation of Stevie Wonder’s Songs)

See also:

John Mellencamp expands 2019 US tour
John Mellencamp announces new album and US tour
John Mellencamp to be honored with the Woody Guthrie Prize
Neil Young and John Mellencamp among Farm Aid 2018 performers
Search John Mellencamp at hennemusic