Thursday, May 9, 2019

The Who: Roger Daltrey announces Tommy Orchestral live release

Roger Daltrey has announced plans to release “The Who’s Tommy Orchestral”, a live album presenting the band’s 1969 rock opera in its entirety as captured on the singer’s 2018 tour.

Due June 14, the project was recorded in Budapest and Bethel in upstate New York – the scene of the first Woodstock festival 50 years ago – and features Daltrey with members of The Who band and an orchestra conducted by Keith Levenson, including The Budapest Scoring Orchestra from new orchestrations by David Campbell.

“Pete’s music is particularly suited to being embellished by the sounds that an orchestra can add to the band,” explains Daltrey. “Tommy can mean whatever you want it to mean, I use the characters in it as metaphors for parts of the human condition, so it’s a kind of a story of the human spirit. Even though it is 50 years on, I approach it as though I’m singing it for the first time.”

Daltrey and Pete Townshend launched a North American orchestral tour this week that sees the pair playing portions of “Tommy” and their 1973 rock opera, “Quadrophenia”, alongside a handful of classic tracks.

“The Who’s Tommy Orchestral” will arrive after the opening leg of the 2019 series wraps up in Toronto, ON on June 1, and in sync with the 50th anniversary of the groundbreaking project.

Daltrey is streaming audio of “Pinball Wizard” as the first preview to the forthcoming live set.

Roger Daltrey
“The Who’s Tommy Orchestral”

Release date: June 14

01. Overture
02. It's A Boy
03. 1921
04. Amazing Journey
05. Sparks
06. Eyesight To The Blind
07. Christmas
08. Cousin Kevin
09. The Acid Queen
10. Do You Think It's Alright
11. Fiddle About
12. Pinball Wizard
13. There's A Doctor
14. Go To The Mirror
15. Tommy, Can You Hear
16. Smash The Mirror
17. Refrain - It's A Boy
18. I’m Free
19. Miracle Cure
20. Sensation
21. Sally Simpson
22. Welcome
23. Tommy's Holiday Camp
24. We're Not Gonna Take It

See also:

VIDEO: The Who open North American symphonic tour in Michigan
VIDEO: The Who rehearse for symphonic tour of North America
The Who announce London show with Eddie Vedder and more
The Who announce symphonic North American tour
Search The Who at hennemusic