Sunday, June 2, 2019

Yes celebrate 50th anniversary tour with live album

Yes are celebrating last year’s 50th anniversary tour with a new live album release.

Due August 2, “Yes 50 Live” will present highlights from the milestone trek, which included shows in Europe, North America and Japan.

The package weaves together several eras from the band's past with songs from 10 different studio albums recorded between 1970 and 2011.

The collection highlights some of the group's iconic tracks, including "Starship Trooper" from 1971’s “The Yes Album”, "Roundabout" from “Fragile” (1971) and the title track from 1972’s “Close To The Edge.”

The package also highlights some of Yes' most adventurous work with an excerpt from "The Ancient", a track that appeared on 1973's “Tales From Topographic Oceans”, and "Soon", which is the final section in "The Gates Of Delirium" from 1974's “Relayer.”

Much of the album was recorded in Philadelphia at a show where 10 members of the Yes family were on stage during the encore – including current members Steve Howe, Geoff Downes, Alan White, Billy Sherwood and Jon Davison, Jay Schellen – alongside former members Tony Kaye, Patrick Moraz, Tom Brislin and Trevor Horn.

Moraz is featured on "Soon", while Kaye is featured on "Yours Is No Disgrace," "Roundabout", and "Starship Trooper."

“Yes 50 Live” will be available in multiple formats, including 2CD, 4LP, limited-editon colored vinyl and digital download.

This summer, the current members of Yes will extend the band's 50th anniversary tour in North America as it headlines The Royal Affair Tour.

The series will see the legendary band joined by Asia, John Lodge of The Moody Blues, and Carl Palmer's ELP Legacy with guest vocals by Arthur Brown for the 7-week run, which will begin in Bethlehem, PA on June 12.

“Yes: 50 Live”

Release date: August 2

Disc One

1. "Close To The Edge"
(i) "The Solid Time Of Change"
(ii) "Total Mass Retain"
(iii) "I Get Up I Get Down"
(iv) "Seasons Of Man"
2. "Nine Voices (Longwalker)"
3. "Sweet Dreams"
4. "Madrigal"
5. "We Can Fly From Here, Part 1"
6. "Soon"
7. "Awaken"

Disc Two

1. "Parallels"
2. "Excerpt From The Ancient"
3. "Yours Is No Disgrace"
4. "Excerpt From Georgia's Song And Mood For A Day"
5. "Roundabout"
6. "Starship Trooper"
a. "Life Seeker"
b. "Disillusion"
c. "Wurm"

See also:

Yes announce The Royal Affair tour with Asia, Carl Palmer and John Lodge
VIDEO: Yes featuring ARW stream live version of Owner Of A Lonely Heart
VIDEO: Yes featuring ARW stream 1971 classic from Live At The Apollo
VIDEO: Yes featuring ARW launch US tour with rare Los Angeles club show
Search Yes at hennemusic