Thursday, July 25, 2019

Ramones to release expanded 40th anniversary edition of It’s Alive

The Ramones will release an expanded deluxe 40th anniversary edition of their classic 1979 live album, “It’s Alive”, on September 20.

The 4CD/2LP package delivers the band’s New Year’s Eve 1977 show at the Rainbow Theatre in London alongside three unreleased concerts from the same week of the UK tour, including a December 28 gig at Top Rank in Birmingham, a December 29 performance at Victoria Hall in Stoke-On-Trent, and a December 30 stop at Friars in Aylesbury.

Taking its name from a 1974 horror film, “It’s Alive” was the last album to feature all four original band members: Dee Dee Ramone, Joey Ramone, Johnny Ramone and Tommy Ramone; it features material from the group’s self-titled 1976 debut, 1977’s “Leave Home” and “Rocket To Russia.”

“It’s Alive: 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition” will be produced in a limited and numbered edition of 8,000 copies, and comes comes packaged in a 12 x 12 hardcover book that’s accompanied by new liner notes written by record producer and musician Steve Albini and Ed Stasium, who produced and engineered “It’s Alive “and remastered all of the music included in this collection.

The fall 2019 project marks the first time that “It’s Alive” has been released on vinyl in the US; the package will also be available through digital and streaming services.

“It’s Alive” is being previewed with audio of a previously-unreleased version of “Blitzkrieg Bop” from the Top Rank show in Birmingham.

The Ramones were inducted into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame in 2002.

The Ramones
“It’s Alive: 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition”

Release date: September 20

Disc One: The Rainbow Theatre, London, December 31, 1977

01. “Rockaway Beach”
02. “Teenage Lobotomy”
03. “Blitzkrieg Bop”
04. “I Wanna Be Well”
05. “Glad To See You Go”
06. “Gimme Gimme Shock Treatment”
07. “You’re Gonna Kill That Girl”
08. “I Don’t Care”
09. “Sheena Is A Punk Rocker”
10. “Havana Affair”
11. “Commando”
12. “Here Today, Gone Tomorrow”
13. “Surfin’ Bird”
14. “Cretin Hop”
15. “Listen To My Heart”
16. “California Sun”
17. “I Don’t Wanna Walk Around With You”
18. “Pinhead”
19. “Do You Wanna Dance”
20. “Chainsaw”
21. “Today Your Love, Tomorrow The World”
22. “I Wanna Be A Good Boy”
23. “Judy Is A Punk”
24. “Suzy Is A Headbanger”
25. “Let’s Dance”
26. “Oh Oh I Love Her So”
27. “Now I Wanna Sniff Some Glue”
28. “We’re A Happy Family”

Disc Two: Top Rank, Birmingham, Warwickshire, December 28, 1977
(Previously Unreleased)

Disc Three: Victoria Hall, Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, December 29, 1977
(Previously Unreleased)

Disc Four: Friars, Aylesbury, Buckinghamshire, December 30, 1977
(Previously Unreleased)

See also:

The Ramones premiere lost Road To Ruin video for I’m Against It
Ramones stream rare Road To Ruin video for She’s The One
Ramones stream Don’t Come Close remix from Road To Ruin reissue
Ramones stream S.L.U.G. remix from expanded Road To Ruin reissue
Search The Ramones at hennemusic