Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Soundgarden, Judas Priest and Thin Lizzy lead 2020 Rock Hall nominees

Soundgarden, Judas Priest and Thin Lizzy are among the nominees for induction into the 2020 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame.

The Cleveland-based institution revealed the full list of 16 artists on Tuesday, which also includes The Doobie Brothers, Motorhead and T. Rex, among others.

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination.

Nine out of 16 of the nominees are on the ballot for the first time, including Dave Matthews Band, The Doobie Brothers, Motorhead, The Notorious B.I.G., Pat Benatar, Soundgarden, T.Rex, Thin Lizzy and Whitney Houston.

Nominee ballots are sent to an international voting body of more than 1,000 artists, historians and members of the music industry. Factors such as an artist’s musical influence on other artists, length and depth of career and the body of work, innovation and superiority in style and technique are taken into consideration.

The 2020 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductees will be announced in December; the ceremony will take place at the Public Auditorium in Cleveland, OH on May 2, 2020.
The Rock Hall offers fans the opportunity to participate in the induction selection process. Beginning October 15 and continuing through 11:59 p.m. EST on January 10, 2020, fans can go to Google and search “Rock Hall Fan Vote” or any nominee name plus “vote” to cast a ballot with Google, vote at rockhall.com, or at the Museum in Cleveland.

The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to choose the 2020 inductees.

2020 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame nominees

• Pat Benatar
• Dave Matthews Band
• Depeche Mode
• The Doobie Brothers
• Whitney Houston
• Judas Priest
• Kraftwerk
• MC5
• Motorhead
• Nine Inch Nails
• The Notorious B.I.G.
• Rufus featuring Chaka Khan
• Todd Rundgren
• Soundgarden
• T. Rex
• Thin Lizzy

See also:

Gibson announces Chris Cornell signature tribute guitar
VIDEO: Soundgarden stream Black Hole Sun from Live From The Artists Den release
VIDEO: Soundgarden stream 1991 classic from Live From The Artists Den package
Soundgarden to premiere Live From The Artists Den via global IMAX event
Search Soundgarden at hennemusic