Friday, November 29, 2019

Cream announce Goodbye Tour Live 1968 box set

Cream will release “Goodbye Tour Live 1968”, a 4-disc box set of material from the group’s farewell tour, on February 7.

The package brings together 36 tracks, including 29 making their first appearance on CD, recorded during Cream’s farewell tour of the U.S. in October 1968 and their final UK date at London’s Royal Albert Hall on November 26 of that same year.

There are a total of 19 previously unreleased tracks, and a further 10 tracks from the Royal Albert Hall show, which have only ever been available on DVD.

On its original release in February 1969, “Goodbye” – which combined live performances from their last tour dates with a handful of studio recordings – topped the UK charts while reaching No. 2 on the US Billboard 200.

This new expanded edition comprises three US concerts – at the Oakland Coliseum, Los Angeles Forum and San Diego Sports Arena – alongside London’s Royal Albert Hall.

“Cream was a shambling circus of diverse personalities who happened to find that catalyst together….. any one of us could have played unaccompanied for a good length of time,” explains Eric Clapton. “So you put the three of us together in front of an audience willing to dig it limitlessly, we could have gone on forever…. And we did….just going for the moon every time we played.”

“Goodbye Tour Live 1968” is bring previewed with a stream of previously-unreleased live audio of “Sunshine Of Your Love” from the Oakland concert date.

The box set will arrive shortly before Clapton hosts a tribute concert in honor of drummer Ginger Baker, who passed away in October at the age of 80; the February 17 event will be held at the Eventim Apollo Hammersmith in London.

Cream bassist Jack Bruce died of liver disease in 2014 at the age of 71.

“Goodbye Tour Live 1968”

Release date: February 7, 2020

Disc One: October 4, 1968 - Oakland Coliseum, Oakland (all tracks previously unreleased, except *)

01. White Room 6.19*
02. Politician 5.22*
03. Crossroads 3.57
04. Sunshine Of Your Love 5.35
05. Spoonful 16.47
06. Deserted Cities Of The Heart 5.26*
07. Passing The Time 10.40
08. I'm So Glad 7.07

Disc Two: October 19, 1968 - Los Angeles Forum, Los Angeles (all tracks previously unreleased except *)

01. Introduction by Buddy Miles 1:39
02. White Room 6.53
03. Politician 6.41*
04. I'm So Glad 9.37*
05. Sitting On Top Of The World 4.53*
06. Crossroads 4.25
07. Sunshine Of Your Love 6.27
08. Traintime 8.11
09. Toad 12.55
10. Spoonful 17.27*

Disc Three: October 20, 1968 - San Diego Sports Arena, San Diego (all tracks previously unreleased)

01. White Room 6.42
02. Politician 6.26
03. I'm So Glad 7.53
04. Sitting On Top Of The World 5.45
05. Sunshine Of Your Love 5.13
06. Crossroads 4.13
07. Traintime 9.39
08. Toad 14.03
09. Spoonful 9.12

Disc Four: Cream Farewell Concert November 26, 1968 - Royal Albert Hall, London (all tracks first-time release on CD)

01. White Room 8.02
02. Politician 6.37
03. I'm So Glad 6.53
04. Sitting On Top Of The World 5.06
05. Crossroads 5.03
06. Toad 11.22
07. Spoonful 15.47
08. Sunshine Of Your Love 8.37
09. Steppin' Out 5.02

See also:

Eric Clapton announces Ginger Baker tribute concert
Cream drummer Ginger Baker dead at 80
Cream: Ginger Baker health update
Cream drummer Ginger Baker is critically ill in hospital
Search Eric Clapton at hennemusic