Tuesday, May 26, 2020

Eric Clapton and B.B. King preview expanded Riding With The King reissue

Eric Clapton and B.B. King are streaming a previously-unreleased track, “Rollin’ And Tumblin’”, as a preview to the expanded 20th anniversary reissue of their 2000 album, “Riding With The King.”

The collaboration – which sees the guitar icons deliver a mix of blues classics and contemporary songs – was a Top 5 US record upon its original release, winning the 2000 Grammy Award for Best Traditional Blues Album on its way to sales of more than 2 million copies in the country.

The original album features four B.B. King originals, plus a selection of covers from writers as diverse as Isaac Hayes & David Porter (“Hold On I’m Coming”), Johnny Mercer & Harold Arlen (“Come Rain Or Come Shine”), William Broonzy & Charles Seger (“Key To The Highway”), and John Hiatt, who wrote and originally recorded the album’s title track.

Due June 26, “Riding With The King” will include two additional previously-unreleased tunes – the lead single, “Rollin’ And Tumblin’”, and King’s “Let Me Love You”; both tracks were recorded during the original sessions and were produced and mixed especially for this release by Simon Climie, who produced the original album with Clapton.

The 14-track collection will be available in all formats including a 180-gram black double vinyl package, while a limited edition 180-gram blue vinyl double LP set will available exclusively in Eric Clapton’s official online store and at indie retailers.

Eric Clapton and B.B. King
“Riding With The King”

20th anniversary reissue
Release date: June 26

01. Riding with the King
02. Ten Long Years
03. Key To The Highway
04. Marry You
05. Three O’Clock Blues
06. Help The Poor
07. I Wanna Be
08. Worried Life Blues
09. Days of Old
10. When My Heart Beats Like A Hammer
11. Hold On I’m Coming
12. Come Rain Or Come Shine

20th Anniversary Bonus Tracks

13. Rollin’ and Tumblin’
14. Let Me Love You

See also:

VIDEO: Eric Clapton hosts Ginger Baker tribute concert in London
Cream stream unreleased live version of Crossroads
Eric Clapton releases For Love On Christmas Day video
Eric Clapton debuts Everyday Will Be Like A Holiday video
Search Eric Clapton at hennemusic