Thursday, August 13, 2020

Linkin Park preview expanded Hybrid Theory 20th anniversary reissues

Linkin Park are sharing the first preview of a series of expanded 20th anniversary reissues of their album debut, “Hybrid Theory.”

The band are streaming a 1999 demo of the track, “She Couldn’t”, one of a dozen unreleased songs from the era featured on the project, which will arrive on October 9.

The 2020 series – which will include the original record alongside demos, rarities, B-sides, DVDs, 95+ minutes of never-before-seen footage, and other extras – will be available in multiple configurations including a Super Deluxe Box, Vinyl Box Set, Deluxe CD, and Digital.

The Limited Edition Super Deluxe Box consists of five CDs – “Hybrid Theory”, double-platinum accompanying remix record “Reanimation”, “B-Side Rarities” with 12 tracks, “LPU Rarities” with 18 tracks only circulated through the Linkin Park Underground (LPU) fan club, and “Forgotten Demos” with 12 unreleased tracks, including “She Couldn’t.”

The box also includes three DVDS, including a direct replica of the original “Frat Party At The Pankake Festival”, “Live Projekt Revolution 2002” … which presents one hour of unseen live footage from Las Vegas and San Diego (plus the 45-minute sequel to “Frat Party” entitled “The Sequel To The Worst Name We’ve Ever Come Up With”, comprised of previously unavailable backstage footage and interviews), and another Live DVD with full concerts from The Fillmore 2001 in San Francisco and Rock AM Ring 2001 in Germany.

The package – which also delivers three vinyl LPS: the original “Hybrid Theory” (1 LP), “Reanimation” (2 LP), and available for the first-time on vinyl the “Hybrid Theory” EP –
a six-track LP with etching on side 2 – is rounded out with the original street team 2-track Cassette, an 80-page illustrated book with contributions from band members and unseen photographs as well as a replica tour laminate and oversized poster of late vocalist Chester Bennington, and a series of lithographs.

The Hybrid Theory Vinyl Box Set comprises the original “Hybrid Theory” (1 LP) and “Reanimation” (2 LP) as well as the “B-Side Rarities” (1 LP); this will be the only format to include a vinyl of “B-Side Rarities.”

A Deluxe CD version presents the original album and “B-Side Rarities” with a 16-page booklet.

Billed as “the best-selling debut of the 21st century,” Hybrid Theory” featured four hit singles – "One Step Closer", "Crawling", "Papercut" and "In The End" – while going on to sell 25 million copies worldwide, including 11 million in the US.

"It's incredible to think it's been 20 years since 'Hybrid Theory' was released," says the band. "All gratitude to our fans who made this epic journey we started 20 years ago possible. We dedicate our music to you. We rededicate our 'Hybrid Theory' to you."

Linkin Park lost frontman Bennington to suicide in 2017 at the age of 41.

Linkin Park
“Hybrid Theory” 20th anniversary reissues

Release date: October 9

Super deluxe box set

5 CDs
01. Hybrid Theory
02. Reanimation
03. B-Side Rarities
04. LPU Rarities
05. Forgotten Demos

3 DVDs
01. Frat Party At The Pankake Festival
02. Live Projekt Revolution 2002 (never-before-released)
03. Live At The Fillmore 2001 // Live At Rock Am Ring 2001

3 LPs
01. Hybrid Theory
02. Reanimation
03. Hybrid Theory EP


* 80-page book featuring contributions from the band and previously unseen photos
* Cassette reproduction of original 2-track street team sampler
* 18x24 Poster of Chester Bennington
* 3 Lithographs featuring new art by Mike Shinoda, Joe Hahn, and Frank Maddocks
* Replica tour laminate

Super deluxe vinyl set

3 LPs
01. Hybrid Theory
02. Reanimation
03. B-Side Rarities

Side A
01. One Step Closer (Rock Mix)
02. It's Goin' Down
03. Papercut (Live from the BBC)
04. In The End (Live BBC Radio One)
05. Points Of Authority (Live BBC Radio One)
06. High Voltage

Side B
07. Step Up (1999 Demo)
08. My December
09. A Place For My Head (Live at Docklands Arena, London)
10. Points Of Authority (Live at Docklands Arena, London)
11. Papercut (Live at Docklands Arena, London)
12. Buy Myself Remix (Marilyn Manson)

Deluxe CD

01. Hybrid Theory
02. B-Side Rarities


All audio tracks on the album will be available to stream or download.

See also:

Linkin Park: In The End video passes 1 billion YouTube views
Linkin Park: Numb video passes 1 billion YouTube views
Linkin Park pick up three 2018 Billboard Music Award nominations
VIDEO: Linkin Park stream Sharp Edges from One More Light Live
Search Linkin Park at hennemusic