Thursday, August 20, 2020

Tom Petty to release expanded Wildflowers collection

A series of expanded editions of Tom Petty’s 1994 album, “Wildflowers”, will be released on October 16.

After the rocker originally wrote and recorded the project as a double album, his record label convinced him to trim it back to a single record, but now the unheard material will be issued this fall.

Petty had always intended to release the second half of the album as a collection he named “All The Rest”, featuring ten songs from the original recording sessions that were left off the original version and five unreleased tracks (different versions of four other songs would appear on the soundtrack to the 1996 film, She’s The One).

“Wildflowers & All The Rest” was curated by Tom’s daughters, Adria and Annakim Petty and his wife Dana Petty who call it, “Many, many hours of pure sonic joy,” as well as Heartbreakers Mike Campbell and Benmont Tench, and was produced by Tom’s longtime engineer and co-producer Ryan Ulyate.

Rounded out with home demos, unreleased tracks and live recordings, the collection will be available in multiple formats, including a 5CD or 9LP box set, Super Deluxe, Deluxe, Ultra-Deluxe Limited Edition, 2CD, 3LP and digital versions.

“Wildflowers & All The Rest” is being previewed with a video for the home recording version of the album’s title track, which follows recently-shared demo of “You Don’t Know How It Feels” and a free download of “There Goes Angela (Dream Away).”

“Wildflowers” reached No. 8 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to sales of more than 3 million copies in the country.

Petty passed away in October of 2017 at the age of 66 in a Santa Monica, CA hospital after being found unconscious and in cardiac arrest at his Malibu home.

Tom Petty
“Wildflowers & All The Rest”

Release date: October 16


01. Wildflowers
02. You Don’t Know How It Feels
03. Time to Move On
04. You Wreck Me
05. It’s Good to Be King
06. Only a Broken Heart
07. Honey Bee
08. Don’t Fade on Me
09. Hard on Me
10. Cabin Down Below
11. To Find a Friend
12. A Higher Place
13. House in the Woods
14. Crawling Back to You
15. Wake Up Time

All The Rest

01. Something Could Happen
02. Leaving Virginia Alone
03. Climb That Hill Blues
04. Confusion Wheel
05. California
06. Harry Green
07. Hope You Never
08. Somewhere Under Heaven
09. Climb That Hill
10. Hung Up and Overdue

Home Recordings

01. There Goes Angela (Dream Away)
02. You Don’t Know How It Feels
03. California
04. A Feeling of Peace
05. Leave Virginia Alone
06. Crawling Back to You
07. Don’t Fade on Me
08. Confusion Wheel
09. A Higher Place
10. There’s a Break in the Rain (Have Love Will Travel)
11. To Find a Friend
12. Only a Broken Heart
13. Wake Up Time
14. Hung Up and Overdue
15. Wildflowers

Wildflowers Live

01. You Don’t Know How It Feels
02. Honey Bee
03. To Find a Friend
04. Walls
05. Crawling Back to You
06. Cabin Down Below
07. Drivin’ Down to Georgia
08. House in the Woods
09. Girls on LSD
10. Time to Move On
11. Wake Up Time
12. It’s Good to Be King
13. You Wreck Me
14. Wildflowers

Alternate Versions (Finding Wildflowers)

*Note: only available on 9-LP and 5-CD formats*

01. A Higher Place
02. Hard on Me
03. Cabin Down Below
04. Crawling Back to You
05. Only a Broken Heart
06. Drivin’ Down to Georgia
07. You Wreck Me
08. It’s Good to Be King
09. House in the Woods
10. Honey Bee
11. Girl on LSD
12. Cabin Down Below (Acoustic Version)
13. Wildflowers
15. Wake Up Time
16. You Saw Me Comin’

See also:

Tom Petty estate offers free download of unreleased Wildflowers track
Hear unreleased Tom Petty demo of You Don’t Know How It Feels
Rockers release Tom Petty tribute single for charity
Tom Petty: For Real video highlights The Best Of Everything collection
Search Tom Petty at hennemusic