Thursday, September 3, 2020

Ace Frehley releases cover of Beatles classic

Ace Frehley is streaming his version of the 1965 Beatles classic, “I’m Down”, as the latest preview to his forthcoming covers album, “Origins Vol. 2.”

The original KISS rocker is joined by Rob Zombie guitarist John 5 on the tune, which first appeared as the b-side to the single for the title song to the UK band’s film, “Help!”

The 2020 version follows Frehley’s take on Deep Purple’s “Space Truckin’” as the second song issued in advance of the September 18 release of the project, which serves as a sequel to the 2016 collection, “Origins Vol 1.”

“Origins Vol. 2” will feature eleven tracks, including songs originally recorded by Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, The Rolling Stones, The Kinks, The Animals, Paul Revere And The Raiders and more.

"Pretty much the whole concept behind the album is redoing songs of bands that influenced me growing up," Ace told KATT Rock 100.5 in Oklahoma City recently, adding “Those guitar players taught me how to play, so nothing's too difficult for me to handle. I used to do their material when I played in club bands."

Ace Frehley
“Origins Vol. 2”

Release date: September 18

01 - "Good Times Bad Times" (Led Zeppelin)
02 - "Never In My Life" (Mountain)
03 - "Space Truckin'" (Deep Purple)
04 - "I'm Down" (The Beatles)
05 - "Jumpin' Jack Flash" (The Rolling Stones)
06 - "Politician" (Cream)
07 - "Lola" (The Kinks)
08 - "30 Days In The Hole" (Humble Pie)
09 - "Manic Depression" (The Jimi Hendrix Experience)
10 - "Kicks" (Paul Revere & The Raiders)
11 - "We Gotta Get Out Of This Place" (The Animals)

See also:

KISS announce rescheduled US dates with David Lee Roth
Ace Frehley releases cover of Deep Purple classic Space Truckin
Ace Frehley previews Deep Purple classic from new covers album
KISS reschedule European farewell tour
Search KISS at hennemusic