Wednesday, September 30, 2020

Neil Young announces Return To Greendale live album and film

Neil Young and Crazy Horse will release a live album and concert film, “Return To Greendale”, on November 6.

The band were captured on their 2003 tour in support of the album, “Greendale”, a project about a fictional town where, according to a press release, “the songs and performance remain topical as ever, powered by themes of environmentalism, corruption, and the destructive effects of capitalism. Featuring Young’s trusty partners Crazy Horse, the Toronto recording captures the epic experience of Young’s immersive, small-town rock opera.

“The multimedia exploit seamlessly blended Young’s powerful lyrics and Crazy Horse’s heavy blues thrash with musical theatre, as actors joined the band onstage to play out Greendale’s narrative as it unfolded. Like Greendale itself, the show eschews elaborate production in favor of a ragged and rough-hewn feel that does right by its source material.”

“Return To Greendale” will be available in multiple formats, including 2CD, 2LP, digital and a limited-edition deluxe box set that will include a Blu-ray of the full concert, 2LPs, 2CDs and a DVD of “Inside Greendale”, a documentary about the making of the album.

The project is one of several Young will issue in the coming months, including the November 20 release of “Archives Volume 2:1972-1976” and a December 6 live album with Crazy Horse from a 1990 club show billed as “Way Down In The Rust Bucket”; the rocker has also teased plans to launch an official bootleg series with his debut performance at New York’s Carnegie Hall in 1970 just three months after he issued his third album, “After The Gold Rush”, and a live concert film entitled “The Timeless Orpheum”, with release dates for both to be announced. Neil Young and Crazy Horse
“Return To Greendale”

Release date: November 6

01. Falling from Above
02. Double E
03. Devil’s Sidewalk
04. Leave The Driving
05. Carmichael
06. Bandit
07. Grandpa’s Interview
08. Bringin’ Down Dinner
09. Sun Green
10. Be The Rain

See also:

Neil Young details Archives Volume 2 collection
Neil Young to launch bootleg series with 1970 Carnegie Hall show
Neil Young announces new archival releases
Neil Young debuts Homegrown in UK Top 5
Search Neil Young at hennemusic