Friday, December 11, 2020

Chris Cornell covers collection released

A collection of cover songs by Chris Cornell has just been released by his family.

“No One Sings Like You Anymore” features 10 tracks handpicked by the singer and recorded in 2016 in what is his last fully completed studio album.

The set delivers Cornell’s version of songs by John Lennon, Harry Nilsson, Ghostland Observatory, Electric Light Orchestra, Carl Hall and others alongside a new studio recording of the Prince-written "Nothing Compares 2 U"; Chris' cover of Gun's 'N Roses' "Patience," which was released on his birthday this year and earned him his first solo Billboard No. 1 on the Mainstream Rock Songs chart, is also included.

All instruments on “No One Sings Like You Anymore” were played by Cornell and producer Brendan O'Brien.

"This album is so special because it is a complete work of art that Chris created from start to finish,” explains Vicky Cornell on behalf of the Chris Cornell Estate. “His choice of covers provides a personal look into his favorite artists and the songs that touched him. He couldn't wait to release it. This moment is bittersweet because he should be here doing it himself, but it is with both heartache and joy that we share this special album.

“All of us could use his voice to help heal and lift us this year, especially during the holiday season. I am so proud of him and this stunning record, which to me illustrates why he will always be beloved, honored, and one the greatest voices of our time."

“No One Sings Like You Anymore” is now available in digital formats and will see a physical release on March 19, 2021.

Cornell took his own life at the age of 52 in a Detroit hotel room in the early hours of May 18, 2017 following a Soundgarden show in the city.

Chris Cornell
“No One Sings Live You Anymore”

Release date: December 11 (digital)

01. Get It While You Can
02. Jump Into The Fire
03. Sad Sad City
04. Patience
05. Nothing Compares 2 U
06. Watching The Wheels
07. You Don't Know Nothing About Love
08. Showdown
09. To Be Treated Rite
10. Stay With Me Baby

See also:

Soundgarden classic Rusty Cage featured in all-star quarantine cover
Unauthorized Chris Cornell biopic in production
Chris Cornell statue vandalized in Seattle
Pearl Jam classic covered by daughter of Chris Cornell for Lollapalooza 2020 livestream
Search Soundgarden at hennemusic