Tuesday, December 1, 2020

Journey guitarist Neal Schon details new solo album Universe

Journey guitarist Neal Schon is sharing the track list for his forthcoming solo album, “Universe.”

The 15-song set mixes original tunes written and produced by Journey drummer Narada Michael Walden with covers of songs by The Beatles (“Hey Jude”), Jimi Hendrix (“Voodoo Child”, “Third Stone From The Sun”), Stevie Wonder (“I Believe”), Prince (“Purple Rain”) and Journey (“Lights”).

Schon has been working on “Universe” over the past few years; he released his version of “Purple Rain” as a tribute to Prince on the late musician’s birthday in June of 2019.

"Prince, pancakes and Journey guitar riffs at 4 am.... late eighties and I am sitting with Prince on the floor in his apartment at Paisley Park,” shared Prince associate Rick Barron at the time. “We’ve listened to Joni Mitchell, Peter Gabriel and I notice a worn Journey ‘Escape’ record in his collection. Surprised I turned to him and said ‘Never took you for a Journey fan’. He gave me that doe eyed look that always made me uncomfortable and said: ‘Neal Schon is one of my favorite guitarists on the planet, he is a genius.’

“I thought it only fitting that Neal would return the respect by playing a fiery, inspired version of ‘Purple Rain’. Having worked for Prince for the last few years of his life, Neal’s beautiful interpretation makes the loss of the colossal talent of “P” a little less sad. They are each prodigy’s that have woven themselves into the fabric of our lives and our lives are richer as a result"

“Universe” marks Schon’s first solo release since 2015’s “Vortex.”

Neal Schon

Release date: TBA

01. Something In The Heart
02. The Eye Of God
03. The Universe
04. Caruso
05. Voodoo Child (Jimi Hendrix)
06. Third Stone From The Sun (Jimi Hendrix)
07. Purple Rain (Prince)
08. She's For Real
09. What Has Become
10. Lights (Journey)
11. Silent Voyage
12. Chrome Shuffle
13. Be Happy
14. I Believe (Stevie Wonder)
15. Hey Jude (The Beatles)

See also:

Journey guitarist Neal Schon to release new solo album
Steve Perry streams new acoustic version of No Erasin’
Steve Perry shares first preview of acoustic Traces album
Neal Schon shares Journey new music update
Search Journey at hennemusic