Monday, February 22, 2021

Heart guitarist Nancy Wilson details debut solo album You And Me

Heart guitarist Nancy Wilson will release her debut solo album, “You And Me”, on May 7.

First previewed last fall with a cover of Bruce Springsteen’s 2002 track, “The Rising”, Wilson is now sharing details of the project, which was recorded primarily in her California home studio as she worked remotely with band members and special guests Sammy Hagar, Duff McKagan, Taylor Hawkins and Liv Warfield.

“Being off the road last year from touring with Heart, and at home with my good guitars and amps out,” says Wilson, “I felt like I was once again able to reconnect with my pre-Heart self, my college-girl self, creating poetic, intimate and romantic songs, which pretty much is what I first brought in to Heart.”

“You And Me” presents a mix of original tunes and covers of Pearl Jam’s “Daughter”, Simon & Garfunkel’s “The Boxer”, and the Cranberries “Dreams.”

The album closes with “4 Edward”, an instrumental tribute to Eddie Van Halen, who Nancy came to know when Heart toured with Van Halen; upon discovering the guitar icon didn’t have an acoustic guitar, she promptly gave him one of hers.

Although Wilson previously released “Live at McCabe’s Guitar Shop” in 1999, she considers “You And Me” her first true solo album.

“I don’t know why it took me so long to do this,” she laughs. “Maybe I was stuck in traffic, maybe I was stuck in the Heart vortex of it all.”

Nancy Wilson
“You And Me”

Release date: May 7

01. You And Me
02. The Rising
03. I'll Find You
04. Daughter
05. Party At The Angel Ballroom (ft. Duff McKagan & Taylor Hawkins)
06. The Boxer (ft. Sammy Hagar)
07. Walk Away
08. The Inbetween
09. Dreams (ft. Liv Warfield)
10. The Dragon
11. We Meet Again
12. 4 Edward

See also:

Heart singer Ann Wilson releases Tender Heart video
Heart singer Ann Wilson releases new single Tender Heart
Heart biopic in the works
Heart guitarist Nancy Wilson covers Bruce Springsteen on new single
Search Heart at hennemusic