Wednesday, February 10, 2021

Iron Maiden and Foo Fighters among 2021 Rock Hall nominees

Iron Maiden and the Foo Fighters are among the nominees for induction into the 2021 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame.

The Cleveland-based institution revealed the full list of 16 artists on Wednesday, which also includes Devo, The New York Dolls, Todd Rundgren and Rage Against The Machine, among others.

To be eligible for nomination, an individual artist or band must have released its first single or album at least 25 years prior to the year of nomination.

Seven nominees are on the ballot for the first time, including Foo Fighters, The Go-Go’s, Iron Maiden, Jay-Z, Mary J. Blige, Fela Kuti, and Dionne Warwick, while Chaka Khan was previously nominated both solo and with the band Rufus. If elected, Carole King and Tina Turner will become the second and third female artists inducted twice, following Stevie Nicks’ 2019 election. If Foo Fighters are inducted, Dave Grohl will also become a twice-inducted performer.

According to the Rock Hall, the Iron Maiden members that would be inducted – if confirmed – would include the current lineup of singer Bruce Dickinson, bassist Steve Harris, drummer Nicko McBrain, and guitarists Adrian Smith, Dave Murray, and Janick Gers, along with former singer Paul Di’Anno, former drummer Clive Burr, and former guitarist Dennis Stratton.

Members of the Foo Fighters recognized – if selected – include the current lineup of Dave Grohl, drummer Taylor Hawkins, bassist Nate Mendel, keyboardist Rami Jaffee, and guitarists Pat Smear and Chris Shiflett.

Nominee ballots are sent to an international voting body of more than 1,000 artists, historians, and members of the music industry. Factors such as an artist’s musical influence on other artists, length and depth of career and the body of work, innovation and superiority in style and technique are taken into consideration.

The Rock Hall offers fans the opportunity to participate in the induction selection process with the Fan Vote. From February 10 through April 30, fans can vote every day at, or at the Museum in Cleveland.

The top five artists, as selected by the public, will comprise a “fans’ ballot” that will be tallied along with the other ballots to select the 2021 Inductees.

The 2021 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame inductees will be announced in May; the ceremony will take place in Cleveland, OH this fall, with further details and ticket on-sale information to be announced at a later date. 2021 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame nominees

• Mary J. Blige
• Kate Bush
• Devo
• Foo Fighters
• The Go-Go’s
• Iron Maiden
• Jay-Z
• Chaka Khan
• Carole King
• Fela Kuti
• LL Cool J
• New York Dolls
• Todd Rundgren
• Rage Against The Machine
• Tina Turner
• Dionne Warwick

See also:

Iron Maiden singer to host Powerslave listening party on Twitter
Iron Maiden score UK top 10 debut with Legacy Of The Beast live album
Iron Maiden stream Sign Of The Cross from Legacy Of The Beast live album
Iron Maiden add final dates to Legacy Of The Beast tour
Search Iron Maiden at hennemusic