Friday, March 12, 2021

Neil Young previews Down By The River from Young Shakespeare live release

Neil Young is previewing the March 26 release of his vintage 1971 solo concert recording and film, “Young Shakespeare”, with video footage of a performance of his 1969 classic, “Down By The River”, from the package.

The set captures Young in performance the Shakespeare Theater in Stratford, CT, which the singer has previously confirmed is "the earliest known film of any of my performances."

Coming just two months after the release of “After The Gold Rush” and three days after a legendary show at Toronto’s Massey Hall (released officially in 2007), the concert was recorded for presentation on German TV later that year but was not publicly available until now.

The original 50 year-old analog tapes have been restored, making available early acoustic recordings of two “After The Gold Rush” songs, a number of “Harvest” tunes a year before they would be released, and fan favorites.

“Young Shakespeare” will be available on vinyl, CD while a stand-alone DVD of the concert will be available exclusively through The Greedy Hand Store at Neil Young Archives.

A Deluxe Box Set Edition will include vinyl, CD, and the DVD, while fans who purchase the CD, LP or Box set from the NYA Greedy Hand Store will also receive free hi-res digital audio downloads from the Xstream Store at NYA.

Neil Young
“Young Shakespeare”

Release date: March 26

01. Tell Me Why
02. Old Man
03. The Needle And The Damage Done
04. Ohio
05. Dance Dance Dance
06. Cowgirl In The Sand
07. A Man Needs A Maid/Heart Of Gold
08. Journey Through The Past
09. Don’t Let It Bring You Down
10. Helpless
11. Down By The River
12. Sugar Mountain

See also:

Neil Young and Crazy Horse stream 1975 rarity Born To Run
Neil Young and Crazy Horse stream 1990 performance of Mansion On The Hill
Neil Young previews Young Shakespeare live release
Neil Young previews new 1990 live package with Crazy Horse
Search Neil Young at hennemusic