Wednesday, May 12, 2021

Former Judas Priest guitarist K.K. Downing launches new band KK's Priest

Former Judas Priest guitarist K.K. Downing is launching his new band, KK’s Priest, with a video for their newly-released single, “Hellfire Thunderbolt.”

The track will appear on the group’s debut album, “Sermons Of The Sinner”, which will arrive on August 20.

The set features a Downing-led lineup that includes former Judas Priest vocalist Tim "Ripper" Owens, as well as guitarist A.J. Mills (Hostile), bassist Tony Newton (Voodoo Six) and drummer Sean Elg (Cage, The Three Tremors).

“We are delighted to finally be able to release our first track to the world,” says Downing. “It gives a real flavor of the sound and showcases the amazing players I've got in this band. We can't wait for the fans to hear the record."

Formed in Birmingham in 1969, Downing joined an early version of Judas Priest in 1970 fronted by original vocalist Al Atkins; it was the arrival of singer Rob Halford in 1973 and their debut album, “Rocka Rolla”, a year later that launched the band on an international basis.

Downing – who published his memoir, “Heavy Duty: Days And Nights In Judas Priest”, in 2018 – retired from the veteran metal band in 2011, and was replaced by Richie Faulkner; Owens was in the Priest lineup from 1996-2003.

KK’s Priest
"Sermons Of The Sinner"
Release date: August 20

01. Incarnation
02. Hellfire Thunderbolt
03. Sermons Of The Sinner
04. Sacerdote Y Diablo
05. Raise Your Fists
06. Brothers Of The Road
07. Metal Through And Through
08. Wild And Free
09. Hail For The Priest
10. Return Of The Sentinel

See also:

Former Judas Priest drummer John Hinch dead at 73
Judas Priest reschedule European tour
Rob Halford updates progress on new Judas Priest album
Judas Priest stream spooky new lyric video for Living After Midnight
Search Judas Priest at hennemusic