Thursday, June 24, 2021

Deep Purple expand Soundboard Series with 2002 London concert recording

Deep Purple will release a 2002 concert recording from London’s famed Hammersmith Apollo on August 13.

Issued as part of the band’s ongoing Soundboard Series – which makes use of rare live recordings from their archives – the February 22 event was part of the group’s final tour with original member and keyboardist Jon Lord before he retired from the lineup and Don Airey moved from touring member to a full-time role.

The sound has been carefully restored from the original 48-track digital tapes and completely remixed and remastered in April 2021.

"Live In London 2002" will be available in a strictly limited and numbered collector’s edition on Double CD and Triple Vinyl.

Deep Purple recently rescheduled dates for their “Whoosh!” UK tour for a second time.

Originally set to take place last fall, the series was moved to October 2021 before being delayed again during the pandemic the shows – with guests Blue Oyster Cult – will launch in October of 2022.

Deep Purple
Live In London 2002

Release date: August 13

01 – Woman From Tokyo
02 – Vavoom: Ted The Mechanic
03 – Mary Long
04 – Lazy
05 – No One Came
06 – The Aviator
07 – The Well-Dressed Guitar
08 – Up The Wall
09 – Black Night
10 – Fools
11 – Jon Lord solo
12 – Perfect Strangers
13 - Steve Morse Riff Parade
14 – Smoke On The Water
15 – Speed King
16 – Hush

See also:

Deep Purple reschedule UK tour to 2022
Deep Purple premiere Nothing At All video
Deep Purple score highest UK chart position in 40 years with Whoosh!
Deep Purple stream Whoosh! album preview
Search Deep Purple at hennemusic
Search Whitesnake at hennemusic
Search Rainbow at hennemusic