Tuesday, June 8, 2021

Noel Gallagher releases Flying On The Ground video

Noel Gallagher has released a video for his new single, “Flying On The Ground”, as featured on the forthcoming greatest hits package, “Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021).”

“‘Flying On The Ground’ is literally the best thing I’ve released since the last thing I released,” says Gallagher. “If Burt Bacharach wrote for Motown, this is what it would sound like… only not as good… obviously.”

Much like the recently-issued video for another new track in the compilation, “We’re On Our Way Now”, the new video stars actors Matt Smith and Gala Gordon and Noel makes a cameo appearance.

"This video reveals the true darkness behind the relationship between our protagonists...and its tragic undoing," adds the Oasis rocker, "a blatant nod to 'A Bout De Souffle' and 'Bande A Part' ('The Outsiders'). Matt and Gala were left to their own devices to improvise each scene within both videos."

Due June 11, the greatest hits package presents highlights from the first decade of Gallagher’s work with The High Flying Birds, including material from their three albums and three EP’s.

“Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021)” will be available in multiple formats, including a 2-CD set, a deluxe 3-CD package and a vinyl boxset; a limited edition, numbered, hand-pressed, colored, double LP with exclusive art print is being sold for Record Store Day on June 12.

Limited edition deluxe formats will include a bonus disc of previously-unreleased acoustic versions, remixes, instrumentals and an unheard demo.

Recently named 2021 Record Store Day UK Ambassador, Gallagher will issue a special edition of the set on June 12 - the first of two drops, which will be followed by a second event on July 17.

Noel Gallagher's High Flying Birds
“Back The Way We Came: Vol 1 (2011-2021)”

Release date: June 11

Disc 1

01. Everybody’s On The Run
02. The Death Of You And Me
03. AKA … What A Life!
04. If I Had A Gun
05. In The Heat Of The Moment
06. Riverman
07. Lock All The Doors
08. The Dying Of The Light
09. Ballad Of The Mighty I
10. We’re On Our Way Now **

Disc 2

01. Black Star Dancing
02. Holy Mountain (Remastered)
03. A Dream Is All I Need To Get By
04. This Is The Place
05. It’s A Beautiful World
06. Blue Moon Rising
07. Dead In The Water (Live At RTÉ 2FM Studios, Dublin)
08. Flying On The Ground **

Bonus Disc

01. It’s A Beautiful World (Instrumental)
02. If I Had A Gun (Acoustic Version)
03. Black Star Dancing (Skeleton Key Remix)
04. Black Star Dancing (12” Mix Instrumental)
05. The Man Who Built The Moon (Acoustic Version)
06. International Magic (Demo)
07. Blue Moon Rising (Sons Of The Desert Remix)
08. The Dying Of The Light (Acoustic Version)
09. This Is The Place (Skeleton Key Remix)
10. This Is The Place (Instrumental)
11. Black Star Dancing (The Reflex Revision)
12. Be Careful What You Wish For (Instrumental)

** new song

See also:

Oasis announce Knebworth concert documentary
Noel Gallagher releases We’re On Our Way Now video
Noel Gallagher named 2021 Record Store Day UK Ambassador
Noel Gallagher performs Dead In The Water on Irish television
Search Oasis at hennemusic