Tuesday, August 10, 2021

Iron Maiden discuss making of new album Senjutsu

Iron Maiden discuss the making of their forthcoming album, “Senjutsu”, in a newly-released video package.

The footage sees bassist Steve Harris, singer Bruce Dickinson and producer Kevin Shirley share details about the band’s 17th studio record and first in six years.

Due September 3, “Senjutsu” was recorded in France in 2019 using some of the procedures the group used when creating 2015’s “The Book Of Souls.”

"We chose to record at Guillaume Tell Studio in France again as the place has such a relaxed vibe,” explains Harris. “The setup there is perfect for our needs; the building used to be a cinema and has a really high ceiling so there’s a great acoustic sound. We recorded this album in the same way we did ‘The Book Of Souls’ in that we’d write a song, rehearse it and then put it down together straight away while it was all fresh in our minds.

“There’s some very complex songs on this album which took a lot of hard work to get them exactly as we wanted them to sound, so the process was at times very challenging, but Kevin is great at capturing the essence of the band and I think it was worth the effort! I’m very proud of the result and can’t wait for fans to hear it."

Iron Maiden are previewing “Senjutsu” with an animated video for the lead track, “The Writing On The Wall.”

Iron Maiden

Release date: September 3

01. Senjutsu
02. Stratego
03. The Writing On The Wall
04. Lost In A Lost World
05. Days Of Future Past
06. The Time Machine
07. Darkest Hour
08. Death Of The Celts
09. The Parchment
10. Hell On Earth

See also:

Iron Maiden announce new album Senjutsu
Iron Maiden debut video for new track The Writing On The Wall
Iron Maiden singer Bruce Dickinson announces spoken word UK tour
Iron Maiden postpone Legacy Of The Beast European tour
Search Iron Maiden at hennemusic