Thursday, August 12, 2021

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss reunite for Raise The Roof album

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss have reunited for a new album entitled “Raise The Roof.”

The pair – who first scored chart and sales success together with their Grammy Award-winning 2007 record, “Raising Sand” – are back 14 years later with a new project produced by T Bone Burnett.

Due November 19, “Raise The Roof” sees the singers joined by a lineup that includes drummer Jay Bellerose, guitarists Marc Ribot, David Hidalgo, Bill Frisell, and Buddy Miller, bassists Dennis Crouch and Viktor Krauss, along with pedal steel guitarist Russ Pahl, among others.

The album features twelve new recordings of songs by legends and unsung heroes including Merle Haggard, Allen Toussaint, The Everly Brothers, Anne Briggs, Geeshie Wiley, Bert Jansch and more; other highlights include a Plant-Burnett original, “High And Lonesome,” and the classic “Can’t Let Go,” written by Randy Weeks and first recorded by Lucinda Williams.

The songs selected for Raise The Roof alternately reflect deep-rooted influences and new revelations. For his part, Plant was keen to introduce the English folk traditions he has loved since adolescence, while Krauss cites hearing “Quattro (World Drifts In)” by the American group Calexico, as “the moment I knew we’d make another album.”

“We wanted it to move,” Krauss continues. “We brought other people in, other personalities within the band, and coming back together again in the studio brought a new intimacy to the harmonies.”

“You hear something and you go ‘Man, listen to that song, we got to sing that song!’,”
adds Plant. “It’s a vacation, really – the perfect place to go that you least expected to find.”

Plant and Krauss – who will tour together in 2022, with dates to be announced soon – are sharing the track “Can’t Let Go” as the first preview to “Raise The Roof.”

Robert Plant and Alison Krauss
“Raise The Roof”

Release date: November 19

01. Quattro (World Drifts In)
02. The Price Of Love
03. Go Your Way
04. Trouble With My Lover
05. Searching For My Love
06. Can't Let Go
07. It Don't Bother Me
08. You Led Me To The Wrong
09. Last Kind Words Blues
10. High And Lonesome
11. Going Where The Lonely Go
12. Somebody Was Watching Over Me

See also:

Led Zeppelin documentary to premiere at Venice International Film Festival
Robert Plant revisits 2007 collaboration with Alison Krauss on Digging Deep
Led Zeppelin documentary update
Robert Plant revisits 2001 collaboration with Afro Celt Sound System
Search Led Zeppelin at hennemusic