Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Santana streams Whiter Shade Of Pale cover featuring Steve Winwood

Carlos Santana is streaming his cover of the 1967 Procol Harum classic, “Whiter Shade Of Pale”, featuring vocals by Steve Winwood.

The tune is the latest preview to the guitarist’s forthcoming album, “Blessings And Miracles”, which sees Santana joined by an all-star lineup that includes Rob Thomas, Chris Stapleton, Chick Corea, Rick Rubin, Corey Glover, Metallica guitarist Kirk Hammett, and Journey drummer Narada Michael Walden, among others.

Santana recalls how he and Winwood were at a show in London’s Hyde Park, and he went up to him and suggested they record the song.

“I said, ‘You and I have to do it, but we’re going to do it very sexy, like a Hare Krishna but with congas.’ I played the components in his ear,” Santana continues, “and he said, ‘I hear it, Carlos. You’re right.’ So that’s what we did – it’s Santana, Cuban, Puerto Rican in an African way. And man, you talk about sexy. Steve’s voice is so sexy and beautiful.”

“Carlos has been doing what I’ve been trying to do for the last 50 years, namely combining elements of rock, jazz, folk, and Latin Afro-Caribbean music,”
adds Winwood. “Carlos’ genius comes in large part from a wonderful combination of rock music with Latin-Cuban rhythms. I’ve played with Carlos on numerous occasions over the past fifty years and I’m very excited to be working with him again still.”

Due October 15, the project marks the follow-up to 2019’s “Africa Speaks.”

“The title of this album comes from my belief that we’re born with heavenly powers that allows us to create blessings and miracles,” Santana explains. “The world programs you to be unworthy of those gifts, but we have to utilize light, spirit and soul – they’re indestructible and immutable. Those are the three main elements on this album.”

Santana is currently playing dates across the US in support of “Blessings And Miracles.”

“Blessings and Miracles”

Release date: October 15

01. "Ghost Of Future Pull / New Light"
02. "Santana Celebration"
03. "Rumbalero" (ft Salvador Santana & Asdru Sierra)
04. "Joy" (Carlos Santana & Chris Stapleton)
05. "Move" (Carlos Santana, Rob Thomas, Zac Barnett & American Authors)
06. "A Whiter Shade Of Pale" (ft Steve Winwood)
07. "Break" (ft Ally Brooke)
08. "She’s Fire" (Diane Warren, G-Eazy & Carlos Santana)
09. "Peace Power" (ft Corey Glover)
10. "America For Sale" (ft Kirk Hammett & Marc Osegueda)
11. "Breathing Underwater" (ft Stella Santana, Avi Snow, MVCA)
12. "Mother Yes"
13. "Song For Cindy"
14. "Angel Choir" (ft Gayle Moran Corea) / All Together (ft Chick Corea)
15. "Ghost Of Future Pull II"

See also:

Rob Thomas reunites with Carlos Santana at We Love NYC concert
Carlos Santana announces Splendiferous Santana streaming compilation
Santana announces fall US tour
Santana announces 2021 Las Vegas residency dates
Search Santana at hennemusic