Thursday, March 17, 2022

Def Leppard announce new album and stream Kick single

Def Leppard are streaming “Kick” as the lead single from their forthcoming album, “Diamond Star Halos.”

Due May 27, the band’s twelfth full-length set marks their first new work since 2015’s self-titled record.

Over the past two years, Def Leppard recorded “Diamond Star Halos” simultaneously in three different countries with Joe Elliott in Ireland, Rick Savage in England, and Phil Collen, Vivian Campbell and Rick Allen in the United States.

The 15 track album mixes the group’s classic sound while giving a nod to influences such as David Bowie, T. Rex, and Mott The Hoople, among others; the title itself references T. Rex’s “Bang a Gong (Get It On).”

Special guests on the record include Alison Krauss – on “This Guitar” and “Lifeless”, and David Bowie pianist Mike Garson, who performs on “Goodbye For Good This Time” and “Angels (Can’t Help You Now).”

“Diamond Star Halos” will be available in multiple configurations, including a Deluxe Edition, 2-LP Vinyl, Digital formats and more.

The album arrives just weeks before Def Leppard team up with Motley Crue for a rescheduled US stadium tour this summer; the recently-expanded series will open in Atlanta, GA on June 16.

Def Leppard
“Diamond Star Halos”

Release date: May 27

01. Take What You Want
02. Kick
03. Fire It Up
04. This Guitar (ft. Alison Krauss)
05. Sos Emergency
06. Liquid Dust
07. U Rok Mi
08. Goodbye For Good This Time
09. All We Need
10. Open Your Eyes
11. Gimme A Kiss
12. Angels (Can't Help You Now)
13. Lifeless (ft. Alison Krauss)
14. Unbreakable
15. From Here To Eternity

See also:

Def Leppard launch online countdown clock
Motley Crue and Def Leppard expand summer stadium tour
Def Leppard announce High N Dry 40th anniversary livestream event
Def Leppard share rare b-side from Volume Three box set
Search Def Leppard at hennemusic