Friday, March 25, 2022

Def Leppard release video for new single Kick

Def Leppard have released a video for their new single, “Kick.”

Written by guitarist Phil Collen, the lead track to the band’s forthcoming “Diamond Star Halos” album was the last song written for the project.

“It’s got that glam rock feel, that hand-clap groove, big vocals,” Collen tells Billboard. “It was just a no-brainer. It was not only that it’s got to be on the album, it’s got to be the first single as well.”

“It’s a stadium anthem, and we were about to go into stadiums,”
adds singer Joe Elliott. “We didn’t write it for that reason, but Phil’s always trying to write the next ‘Sugar’ or ‘We Will Rock You’ Or ‘I Love Rock ‘n’ Roll.’ We all are, but he actually came up with one, and it’s like, ‘Yeah, we’ve got to do that,’ so now it’s a 15-song record.”

Def Leppard’s twelfth studio set will arrive on May 27, just weeks before the band team up with Motley Crue for a rescheduled US stadium tour.

The project mixes the UK group’s classic sound with a nod to influences like David Bowie, T. Rex, and Mott The Hoople, among others; the title itself references T. Rex’s “Bang a Gong (Get It On).”

“Diamond Star Halos” will be available in multiple configurations, including a Deluxe Edition, 2-LP Vinyl, Digital formats and more.

Def Leppard
“Diamond Star Halos”

Release date: May 27

01. Take What You Want
02. Kick
03. Fire It Up
04. This Guitar (ft. Alison Krauss)
05. Sos Emergency
06. Liquid Dust
07. U Rok Mi
08. Goodbye For Good This Time
09. All We Need
10. Open Your Eyes
11. Gimme A Kiss
12. Angels (Can't Help You Now)
13. Lifeless (ft. Alison Krauss)
14. Unbreakable
15. From Here To Eternity

See also:

Def Leppard announce new album and stream Kick single
Def Leppard launch online countdown clock
Motley Crue and Def Leppard expand summer stadium tour
Def Leppard announce High N Dry 40th anniversary livestream event
Search Def Leppard at hennemusic