Friday, March 25, 2022

The Rolling Stones announce Live At The El Mocambo album

The Rolling Stones will release a live album of their legendary 1977 performances at the El Mocambo club in Toronto, ON.

Due May 13, the project presents the first official appearance of the group's two famous secret concerts at the 300-capacity venue.

A radio contest was organized in which the prize was tickets to see Canadian rock heroes April Wine at the club, supported by an unknown band called the Cockroaches; as it turned out, April Wine were themselves the opening act as the Stones took the stage.

“Live At The El Mocambo” features the Stones' full set from the March 5 show, plus three bonus tracks from the March 4 gig, newly mixed by Bob Clearmountain. Only four of the performances found their way onto the “Love You Live” album that followed in September 1977, which was dominated by tracks captured on the band's 1975 and '76 tours, with the full set having never been heard before.

“We’re up on stage at the El Mocambo and we never felt better,” recalls Keith Richards. “I mean, we sounded great.”

“Live At The El Mocambo” will be available in multiple configurations, including double CD, 4 LP black vinyl, 4 LP neon vinyl and digitally.

The package is being previewed with a video trailer and audio of “It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)” and “Rip This Joint.”

The Rolling Stones recently announced dates for a 60th anniversary tour of the UK and Europe; the summer series will open in Madrid, Spain on June 1.

The Rolling Stones
“Live at the El Mocambo”

Release date: May 13

01. Honky Tonk Women
02. All Down The Line
03. Hand Of Fate
04. Route 66
05. Fool To Cry
06. Crazy Mama
07. Mannish Boy
08. Crackin’ Up
09. Dance Little Sister
10. Around And Around
11. Tumbling Dice
12. Hot Stuff
13. Star Star
14. Let’s Spend The Night Together
15. Worried Life Blues
16. Little Red Rooster
17. It’s Only Rock ‘N’ Roll (But I Like It)
18. Rip This Joint
19. Brown Sugar
20. Jumpin’ Jack Flash
21. Melody
22. Luxury
23. Worried About You

See also:

The Rolling Stones plan to complete new album with Steve Jordan
The Rolling Stones announce 60th anniversary tour
The Rolling Stones tease 2022 tour announcement
Keith Richards streams 999 from Main Offender reissue
Search Rolling Stones at hennemusic