Wednesday, May 11, 2022

Whitesnake announce Greatest Hits reissue

Whitesnake have announced plans for the release of a remixed and remastered version of their 1994 “Greatest Hits” collection.

The set contains updated versions of classic tracks like “Still Of The Night,” “Here I Go Again,” and “Is This Love.”

“We’ve definitely expanded on the original Greatest Hits, took them all out of the sonic time capsule of the ’80s and ’90s, and brought them up to date, sound-wise,” says David Coverdale, “as always, we have the original albums for those who consider them holy relics.”

The compilation focuses extensively on three blockbuster albums the band released during the 1980s: 1984’s “Slide It In” (2x platinum), 1987’s “Whitesnake” (8x platinum), and 1989’s “Slip Of The Tongue” (platinum). But the collection goes deeper with songs like “Sweet Lady Luck,” a b-side on the 12” single for “The Deeper The Love,” and “Forevermore,” the title track from the band’s 2011 album.

“Greatest Hits” will feature a staggered series of release dates: it is now available on digital and streaming services worldwide, with some market breakdowns as follows:

- CD out now in Europe
- 2LP out May 20 in Europe
- CD/Blu-ray out June 3 in Europe
- CD & 2LP out on June 17 in North America
- CD/Blu-ray out July 15 in North America

Coverdale is previewing the package with a look back at “Still Of The Night.”

The reissue arrives in sync with this week’s launch of Whitesnake’s farewell tour, which will include a newly-announced series of fall dates in North America with the Scorpions.

"Greatest Hits"

2022 reissue

01. Still Of The Night
02. Here I Go Again
03. Is This Love
04. Give Me All Your Love
05. Love Ain't No Stranger
06. Slide It In
07. Slow An' Easy
08. Guilty Of Love
09. Fool For Your Loving
10. Judgment Day
11. The Deeper The Love
12. Now You're Gone
13. You're Gonna Break My Heart Again
14. Sweet Lady Luck
15. Crying In The Rain
16. Forevermore

See also:

Scorpions announce North American tour with Whitesnake
David Coverdale sells his Whitesnake and Deep Purple song catalog
Whitesnake welcome new bassist to lineup for farewell tour
Whitesnake announce lineup change ahead of farewell tour
Search Deep Purple at hennemusic
Search Whitesnake at hennemusic
Search Rainbow at hennemusic
Search Glenn Hughes at hennemusic