Friday, August 19, 2022

Sammy Hagar covers Elvis Costello classic Pump It Up

Sammy Hagar and The Circle have released a video for their cover of the Elvis Costello & The Attractions tune, “Pump It Up.”

Originally featured on Costello’s 1978 album, “This Year’s Model”, the Hagar version featured on the forthcoming “Crazy Times” set was recorded live during a warm-up session on the encouragement of the album's producer Dave Cobb, who also plays rhythm guitar on the track.

Due September 30, the band recorded the follow-up to 2019’s “Space Between” with Cobb at the historic RCA Studio A in Nashville, TN.

“Working with Dave Cobb for the first time was enlightening,” explains Hagar. “We went into the studio to record in the fall of 2021, when the world was starting to come out of the pandemic bubble we’d all been living in.

“Going back in the studio, creating and being with the music is just what felt natural. And it was just so different from any record I've ever made. There was joy in the hard work, catharsis and the comradery we’d craved. It was like those two years of not being able to do very much fell away and we really all came together and let it out in the music and lyrics. We were able to express what we all felt.”

In support of the album release, Sammy Hagar & The Circle hit the road in June with the 21-city “Crazy Times” US amphitheater tour, when that wraps up in Sacramento, CA on October 1, Hagar will celebrate his 75th birthday at his annual week of Birthday Bash concerts at his Cabo Wabo Cantina in Cabo San Lucas, Mexico.

“Crazy Times” will be available in multiple formats, including CD, digital and streaming, with vinyl due for release on October 28.

Get your digital copy of “Crazy Times” at Amazon here or pick up the vinyl edition here.

Sammy Hagar & The Circle
“Crazy Times”

Release date: September 30

01. Intro: The Beginning Of The End
02. Slow Drain
03. Feed Your Head
04. Pump It Up (Elvis Costello cover)
05. Be Still
06. You Get What You Pay For
07. Crazy Times
08. Funky Feng Shui
09. Father Time
10. Childhoods End

See also:

Sammy Hagar & The Circle stream title track to new album Crazy Times
Sammy Hagar shares 2014 performance of Led Zeppelin classic
Sammy Hagar reveals new album plans
Sammy Hagar announces new Las Vegas residency dates
Search Sammy Hagar at hennemusic