Thursday, September 29, 2022

Bruce Springsteen previews new soul covers album Only The Strong Survive

Bruce Springsteen is sharing a version of the 1965 Frank Wilson single, “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)”, as the first preview to a new collection of soul covers entitled “Only The Strong Survive.”

Due November 11, the project features fifteen soul music greats as the rocker celebrates gems from the legendary catalogues of Motown, Gamble and Huff, Stax and many more.

Produced by Ron Aniello and recorded at Thrill Hill Recording in New Jersey, Springsteen’s 21st studio album will also feature guest vocals by Sam Moore, as well as contributions from The E Street Horns, full string arrangements by Rob Mathes, and backing vocals by Soozie Tyrell, Lisa Lowell, Michelle Moore, Curtis King Jr., Dennis Collins and Fonzi Thornton.

“I wanted to make an album where I just sang,” says Springsteen. “And what better music to work with than the great American songbook of the Sixties and Seventies? I’ve taken my inspiration from Levi Stubbs, David Ruffin, Jimmy Ruffin, the Iceman Jerry Butler, Diana Ross, Dobie Gray, and Scott Walker, among many others. I’ve tried to do justice to them all—and to the fabulous writers of this glorious music.

“My goal is for the modern audience to experience its beauty and joy, just as I have since I first heard it. I hope you love listening to it as much as I loved making it.”

“Covers Vol 1: Only The Strong Survive” marks Springsteen’s first studio album since 2020's “Letter To You”; he will regroup with the E Street Band in February for a 2023 international tour, with US dates starting February 1 in Tampa, FL.

Bruce Springsteen
“Covers Vol 1: Only The Strong Survive”

Release date: November 11

01 – “Only The Strong Survive” (Jerry Butler)
02 – “Soul Days” (Featuring Sam Moore) (Dobie Gray)
03 – “Nightshift” (The Commodores)
04 – “Do I Love You (Indeed I Do)” (Frank Wilson)
05 – “The Sun Ain’t Gonna Shine Anymore” (The Walker Brothers)
06 – “Turn Back The Hands of Time” (Tyrone Davis)
07 – “When She Was My Girl” (The Four Tops)
08 – “Hey, Western Union Man” (Jerry Butler)
09 – “I Wish It Would Rain” (The Temptations)
10 – “Don’t Play That Song” (Aretha Franklin)
11 – “Any Other Way” (Jackie Shane)
12 – “I Forgot To Be Your Lover ” (Featuring Sam Moore) (William Bell)
13 – “7 Rooms of Gloom” (The Four Tops)
14 – “What Becomes of the Brokenhearted” (Jimmy Ruffin)
15 – “Someday We’ll Be Together” (Diana Ross and the Supremes)

See also:

Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band announce US tour
Bruce Springsteen performs with Paul McCartney in New Jersey
Bruce Springsteen performs with Coldplay in New Jersey
Bruce Springsteen expands 2023 European tour with the E Street Band
Search Bruce Springsteen at hennemusic