Tuesday, October 31, 2023

Motley Crue guitarist Mick Mars releases debut single Loyal To The Lie

Motley Crue guitarist Mick Mars has released “Loyal To The Lie” as the debut single from his forthcoming album, “The Other Side Of Mars.”

The leadoff track delivers a heavy punch as the introduction to the rocker’s solo career.

“I wanted to do something that was just big and mean,” says Mars with a laugh.

Due February 23, Mars worked with producer and engineer Michael Wagener and is joined on the project by Winger and former Alice Cooper keyboardist Paul Taylor, who, in addition to performing on the record and assisting Mars in co-writing many of the tracks, introduced the guitarist to powerhouse vocalist Jacob Bunton.

“Jacob came into the studio and it was like, bam!” Mars recalls. “And I just said, ‘Yeah, he’s the guy.’ And most of his vocals were one take.”

The supporting band was rounded out by Korn drummer Ray Luzier, as well as two additional in-demand Nashville musicians: bassist Chris Collier and singer Brion Gamboa, who contributed lead vocals to two songs, “Undone” and “Killing Breed,” both of which, Mars says, “required a little bit more of an angsty, desperation kind of thing. And Brion really came to the table with that.”

When Mick Mars stepped back from touring with Motley Crue – the band he co-founded more than 40 years ago – following their massive summer 2022 Stadium Tour, it seemed like the end of an era. Really, it was the beginning of a new one.

“When it comes to my playing, there’s the Motley side and the Mars side,” the guitarist says. “Either way, I always have a very clear vision of what I want to do.”

At the same time fans are soaking up “The Other Side Of Mars”, the guitarist is already working on a follow-up record.

“I'm trying to keep growing,” explains Mars. “Because if you stop learning new things, if you stop playing new things, if you close your mind, you’re done. You have to keep moving and creating. Next!”

Pick up the new single here.

Mick Mars
“The Other Side Of Mars”

Release date: February 23, 2024

01 – "Loyal to the Lie"
02 – "Broken on the Inside"
03 – "Alone"
04 – "Killing Breed"
05 – "Memories"
06 – "Right Side of Wrong"
07 – "Ready to Roll"
08 – "Undone"
09 – "Ain't Going Back"
10 – "LA Noir"

See also:

Motley Crue recap 2023 World Tour show in Omaha
Motley Crue rock the Fargodome on 2023 world tour
Motley Crue share Ohio Stadium concert recap video
Motley Crue announce Shout At The Devil 40th anniversary box set
Search Motley Crue at hennemusic