Tuesday, May 21, 2024

Neil Young and Crazy Horse to release Early Daze collection

Neil Young and Crazy Horse will release a collection of recordings entitled “Early Daze” on June 28.

The package collects 10 songs that showcase some of the most iconic originals by Neil Young, and several with contributions by guitarist Danny Whitten as part of Young's first band after the breakup of Buffalo Springfield.

When the Crazy Horse band first came together in 1969, it featured Danny Whitten (guitar and vocals), Ralph Molina (drums and vocals), Billy Talbot (bass and vocals) and Jack Nitzsche (keyboards, Tambourine and vocals).

It was a band that was immediately spoken of with high excitement, and allowed Young's new original songs to find an open runway for taking off new directions. Their early lives shows immediately set a new standard for rock & roll groups, and with Young's new original songs like "Dance Dance Dance," "Come on Baby Let's Go Downtown," "Cinnamon Girl" and "Down by the River," the aggregation immediately took on a fevered following across America and beyond.

The 2024 package delivers Young with Crazy Horses' earliest recordings, including several original versions that have not been released before, and along with the 7-inch Mono mix that was released in 1970 that includes a guitar outro not on LP version not on original LP version.

This collection includes unreleased versions of "Come On Baby Let’s Go Downtown," "Winterlong," "Wonderin’," and more, along with the original 7" mono mix of "Cinnamon Girl."

“Early Daze” will be available at the Greedy Hand Store at Neil Young Archives (NYA) and music retailers everywhere; all Greedy Hand Store purchases come with free hi-res digital audio downloads from the Xstream Store at NYA.

On June 28, black vinyl, compact disc and digital editions will be released. A limited edition clear vinyl edition, which includes an exclusive poster, will be available through the Greedy Hand Store and at independent retailers. Hi-Res digital audio is available at the Xstream Store at NYA and most DSP's. All Greedy Hand Store purchases come with free hi-res digital audio downloads.

Young and Crazy Horse are currently playing dates across North America.

Get some Neil Young music here.

Neil Young & Crazy Horse
“Early Daze”

Release date: June 28

01 - Dance Dance Dance (Included on Neil Young - Archives Vol. I)
02 - Come On Baby Let’s Go Downtown (Unreleased version)
03 - Winterlong (Unreleased version)
04 - Everybody’s Alone (Different mix included on Archives Vol. I)
05 - Wonderin’ (Unreleased version)
06 - Cinnamon Girl (Original 7” Mono mix. Released April 20, 1970. Includes guitar outro not on LP version)
07 - Look At All The Things (Unreleased version)
08 - Helpless (Unreleased version)
09 - Birds (Unreleased stereo mix) Mono mix was released as B-side to “Only Love Can Break Your Heart”)
10 - Down By The River (Unreleased version with alternate vocals)
See also:

Neil Young and Crazy Horse announce North American tour
Neil Young announces Harvest Moon vinyl reissue
Neil Young streams lost 1977 album Chrome Dreams
Neil Young streams Interstate from expanded Ragged Glory reissue
Search Neil Young at hennemusic