Thursday, March 20, 2014

AC/DC: Angus & Malcolm Young’s first recordings to be reissued

Angus, Malcolm and George Young

The first recordings made by AC/DC’s Angus & Malcolm Young are set to be reissued on June 2nd.

The brothers appeared on Marcus Hook Roll Band’s 1973 release, “Tales Of Old Grand Daddy.”

The group was put together by Harry Vanda and George Young of The Easybeats (and, later, Flash And The Pan).

The main sessions for “Tales Of Old Grand Daddy” took place during July/August 1973 in Sydney, Australia. A key ingredient was supplied by producer Alan “Wally” Waller - Jim Beam Old Grand-dad bourbon whiskey - hence the album name.

“We had Harry, myself and my kid brothers, Malcolm and Angus,” said George. “We all got rotten, except for Angus, who was too young, and we spent a month in there boozing it up every night. That was the first thing Malcolm and Angus did before AC/DC. We didn’t take it very seriously so we thought we’d include them to give them an idea of what recording was all about.”

The lineup for the album also included Alex Young and Howie Casey on sax, Ian Campbell on bass, and John Proud and Freddie Smith on drums.

AC/DC will celebrate their 40th anniversary this year with a new album and tour.

The band are heading into a Vancouver studio in May to record the follow-up to 2008’s “Black Ice”, and are considering a plan to play 40 shows to mark the anniversary.

Marcus Hook Roll Band
“Tales Of Old Grand Daddy”

Release date: June 2

CD and download
01. Can’t Stand The Heat
02. Goodbye Jane
03. Quick Reaction
04. Silver Shoes & Strawberry Wine
05. Watch Her Do it Now
06. People and the Power
07. Red Revolution
08. Shot in the Head
09. Ape Man
10. Cry For Me
11. One Of These Days (Previously Unreleased)
12. Natural Man (1972 A-Side of Regal Zonophone RZ 3061)
13. Moonshine Blues (1974 B-Side of ‘Can’t Stand The Heat’ BASF ‎– 06 19196-0)
14. Louisiana Lady (1973 A-Side of Regal Zonophone RZ 3072)
15. Ride Baby Ride (Previously Unreleased)

Vinyl side 1
01. Can’t Stand The Heat
02. Goodbye Jane
03. Quick Reaction
04. Silver Shoes
05. Watch Her Do it Now

Vinyl side 2
01. People And The Power
02. Red Revolution
03. Shot In The Head
04. Ape Man
05 Cry For Me

See also:

VIDEO: AC/DC classic featured in new Interac commercial campaign
AC/DC drummer cleared in helicopter licence dispute
VIDEO: Eddie Vedder joins Bruce Springsteen for AC/DC classic in Brisbane
VIRAL VIDEO: AC/DC’s Thunderstruck covered by 2 Cellos
Search AC/DC at hennemusic