Sunday, April 20, 2014

Neil Young releases covers album A Letter Home

Neil Young released his new album, “A Letter Home”, without much fanfare on Friday through Jack White’s Third Man Records, just in time for the annual Record Store Day event on Saturday.

“Third Man Records unearths Neil Young's ‘A Letter Home’, read a posting on Young’s website. “An unheard collection of rediscovered songs from the past recorded on ancient electro mechanical technology captures and unleashes the essence of something that could have been gone forever.” The message was mysteriously credited to Homer Grosvenor, possibly one of Young’s aliases.

In January, Neil described the project as “one of the lowest-tech experiences I've ever had.” The album was recorded at Third Man Records in a refurbished 1947 Voice-o-Graph vinyl recording booth.

The vinyl-only release features covers of songs by Bruce Springsteen, Bob Dylan, Gordon Lightfoot and more.

“A Letter Home” is available via Third Man Records here.

Neil Young
“A Letter Home”

01. "Changes" (Phil Ochs)
02. "Girl From The North Country" (Bob Dylan)
03. "Needle of Death" (Bert Jansch)
04. "Early Morning Rain" (Gordon Lightfoot)
05. "Crazy" (Willie Nelson)
06. "Reason To Believe" (Tim Hardin)
07. "On The Road Again" (Willie Nelson)
08. "If You Could Read My Mind" (Gordon Lightfoot)
09. "Since I Met You Baby" (Ivory Joe Hunter)
10. "My Hometown" (Bruce Springsteen)
11. "I Wonder If I Care As Much" (Everly Brothers)

See also:

Neil Young adds dates to spring tour
Neil Young to launch PonoMusic service this week
Neil Young to publish second memoir
Search Neil Young at hennemusic