Tuesday, February 24, 2015

Bad Company to reissue expanded versions of first two albums

Bad Company will release expanded versions of their first two classic albums, “Bad Company” and “Straight Shooter”, as digital and Deluxe CD Editions featuring rare and previously unreleased recordings on April 7.

The release follows 2014’s reissue of both projects on 180-gram vinyl.

The band’s self-titled debut album, 1974’s “Bad Company”, reached No. 1 on the US Billboard Top 200 and has since been certified five times platinum for US sales of 5 million copies. The set contains some of the most well known rock songs of all time, including “Can’t Get Enough”, “Rock Steady”, “Ready For Love”, “Don’t Let Me Down”, “Bad Company”, “The Way I Choose”, “Movin’ On” and “Seagull.”

The album produced two US top-20 singles: “Can’t Get Enough” reached No. 5 on the Billboard Hot 100, while “Movin’ On’” reached No. 19.

The second disc of the Deluxe Edition features 12 tracks, including eight previously unreleased recordings such as the demo for the ballad “The Way I Choose”, a take of “Bad Company” recorded right before the album version, and an unedited version of “Superstar Woman”, a song that frontman Paul Rodgers later recorded in 1983 for his solo album “Cut Loose.” Also featured is the single edit of “Can’t Get Enough”, and the b-sides “Little Miss Fortune” and “Easy On My Soul.”

The band’s follow-up album, 1975’s “Straight Shooter”, reached No. 3 on the Billboard Top 200 and featured the hits “Feel Like Making Love” (No. 10) and “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad” (No. 36) along with “Shooting Star”, “Deal With The Preacher”, “Weep No More”, “Wild Fire Woman”, “Anna” and “Call On Me.”

Of the 14 bonus tracks, all are previously unreleased except the b-side “Whiskey Bottle.” Among the standouts is a stripped-down version of “Shooting Star,” a remix of “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad” with alternative guitar and vocals tracks, as well as two lost gems, never released before: “See The Sunlight” and “All Night Long.”

Bad Company
“Bad Company” Deluxe Edition

Disc One

1. “Can’t Get Enough”
2. “Rock Steady”
3. “Ready for Love”
4. “Don’t Let Me Down”
5. “Bad Company”
6. “The Way I Choose”
7. “Movin’ On”
8. “Seagull”

Disc Two

1. “Can’t Get Enough” (Take 1)
2. “Little Miss Fortune” (Demo Reel 1)
3. “The Way I Choose” (Demo Reel 1)
4. “Bad Company” (LMS Studio Reel 2-73 Session)
5. “The Way I Choose” (Version 1 Inc. F/S)
6. “Easy on My Soul” (Long Version)
7. “Bad Company” (LMS Studio Reel 8-73 Session)
8. Studio Chat/Dialogue
9. “Superstar Woman” (Long Version)
10. “Can’t Get Enough” (Single Edit)
11. “Little Miss Fortune” (B-side of “Can’t Get Enough”)
12. “Easy on My Soul” (B-side of “Movin’ On”)

Bad Company
“Straight Shooter” Deluxe Edition

Disc One

1. “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad”
2. “Feel Like Makin’ Love”
3. “Weep No More”
4. “Shooting Star”
5. “Deal With the Preacher”
6. “Wild Fire Woman”
7. “Anna”
8. “Call on Me”

Disc Two

1. “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad” (Alternate Vocal & Guitar)
2. “Feel Like Makin’ Love” (Take Before Master)
3. “Weep No More” (Early Slow Version)
4. “Shooting Star” (Alternate Take)
5. “Deal With the Preacher” (Early Version)
6. “Anna” (Alternate Vocal)*
7. “Call on Me” (Alternate Take)
8. “Easy on My Soul” (Slow Version)
9. “Whiskey Bottle” (Early Slow Version)
10. “See the Sunlight”
11. “All Night Long”
12. “Wild Fire Woman” (Alternate Vocal & Guitar)
13. “Feel Like Makin’ Love” (Harmonica Version)
14. “Whiskey Bottle” (B-side of “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad”)

See also:

Bad Company to reissue first two albums on 180-gram vinyl
Bad Company and Lynyrd Skynyrd team up for summer tour dates
Paul Rodgers once piloted Led Zeppelin’s plane
Search Bad Company at hennemusic
Search Paul Rodgers at hennemusic