Tuesday, July 7, 2015

Chris Cornell to reissue solo debut with original title

Soundgarden frontman Chris Cornell will reissue his 1999 solo debut album under its original title, “Euphoria Mourning”, on August 14.

Cornell says he was dissuaded from his first choice for a title and the project was released as “Euphoria Morning.”

“The title of the record has been restored to its original spelling,” says the singer. “Which was changed before release after I listened to some bad advice.”

The remastered “Euphoria Mourning” will be available for the first time on vinyl as well as being reissud digitally and on CD. The 180 gram vinyl package will include a download card featuring 320 kbps MP4 audio ripped directly from the record.

The 1999 album saw Cornell team with Alain Johannes and Natasha Shneider of the band Eleven, who appeared on the album, co-wrote five of the tracks and were credited as co-producers, engineers and mixers with Cornell.

The album’s first single, “Can’t Change Me”, peaked at No. 5 on the US Billboard Mainstream Rock tracks chart and was nominated for Best Male Rock Vocal Performance at the 2000 Grammy Awards.

The August project arrives a month before Cornell releases his fourth solo album, “Higher Truth”, on September 18.

The Soundgarden frontman will launch the record with a 6-week acoustic theater tour of North America that will see Cornell perform material from his entire career.

Soundgarden are expected to regroup to record and release a new album in 2016, according to guitarist Kim Thayil.

See also:

Chris Cornell announces North American theater tour
Chris Cornell reveals title of forthcoming solo album
Chris Cornell announces tour of New Zealand and Australia
Soundgarden share unreleased 1994 tour video
Search Soundgarden at hennemusic