Tuesday, March 8, 2016

Rainbow to release 1980 Monsters Of Rock show

Rainbow will release their 1980 performance at the UK’s Monsters Of Rock festival this spring ahead of the band regrouping for a series of live dates this June.

“Rainbow: Monsters Of Rock - Live At Donington 1980” will be released as a DVD+CD set and via digital formats on April 22.

The package captures the last performance of the Rainbow lineup of guitarist Ritchie Blackmore, keyboardist Don Airey, bassist Roger Glover, vocalist Graham Bonnet and drummer Cozy Powell as they headlined the first rock festival ever staged at Castle Donington.

The Donington set in support of the group’s 1979 album “Down To Earth” features new tracks alongside classics from earlier in their career including “Stargazer,” “Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll,” “Catch The Rainbow” and more.

The Monsters Of Rock performance climaxes with Blackmore destroying his guitar and thrusting it into an amp which promptly bursts into flames before fireworks appear overhead to conclude the main event.

Rainbow are previewing the package with footage of “All Night Long” (see below).

Blackmore has reformed Rainbow with a new lineup for a three-show run in June.

The guitarist will be joined by Lords Of Black singer Ronnie Romero, Stratovarius keyboardist Jens Johansson, Blackmore’s Night drummer David Keith and bassist Bob Nouveau when they perform the Best of Rainbow and Deep Purple at the Monsters Of Rock festivals in Loreley, Germany on June 17 and Bietigheim-Bissingen, Germany on June 18, as well as a solo headlining date at the Genting Arena in Birmingham, UK on June 25.

"Monsters Of Rock - Live At Donington 1980"
Release date: April 22


01. Lazy
02. All Night Long
03. Catch The Rainbow
04. Eyes Of The World
05. Guitar Solo
06. Difficult To Cure
07. Will You Love Me Tomorrow
08. Long Live Rock 'N' Roll


01. Intro / Eyes Of The World
02. Since You Been Gone
03. Stargazer
04. Catch The Rainbow
05. Lost In Hollywood / Guitar Solo
06. Difficult To Cure / Keyboard Solo
07. Drum Solo / Lost In Hollywood (reprise)
08. Lazy
09. All Night Long
10. Blues
11. Will You Love Me Tomorrow
12. Long Live Rock 'N' Roll

See also:

Ritchie Blackmore recovering from surgery
Former Deep Purple singer says Rock Hall induction is a circus
Ritchie Blackmore previews 2016 Rainbow concerts
Deep Purple refuse to perform with Ritchie Blackmore at Rock Hall induction
Search Deep Purple at hennemusic
Search Rainbow at hennemusic