Tuesday, August 16, 2016

David Bowie: The Man Who Fell To Earth soundtrack to see first release

The soundtrack to David Bowie’s 1976 film, “The Man Who Fell To Earth”, will see its first release for the first time in sync with the project’s 4K restoration and return to UK cinemas next month as part of its 40th anniversary.

Due September 9, the package features exclusive music from John Phillips of The Mamas & The Papas and Japanese prog-fusionist Stomu Yamashta without a contribution from Bowie himself, who stepped aside from participating at the time due to contractual issues.

The 2CD set comes with a 48-page hardback book with rare photos and a new essay about the film from Paolo Hewitt. The book also contains notes from the movie’s editor, Graeme Clifford, who reveals that he used Pink Floyd’s “Dark Side Of The Moon” as a temporary soundtrack whilst working on the film.

A deluxe 2CD/2LP box will be issued on November 18 that adds a reproduction of the original UK poster for the film, which was based on Walter Tevis' 1963 novel of the same name about an extraterrestrial who crash lands on Earth seeking a way to ship water to his planet, which is suffering from a severe drought.

A 4K restoration of “The Man Who Fell To Earth” by StudioCanal will be released in cinemas across the UK on September 9, followed by a DVD and Blu-ray release in the UK on October 10.

Information regarding possible release plans in other territories has yet to be announced.

Various Artists
"The Man Who Fell To Earth" (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Release date: September 9

CD 1
01 - Poker Dice by Stomu Yamash'ta
02 - Blueberry Hill (Single Version) by Gordon Jenkins Orchestra And Choir and Louis Armstrong
03 - Jazz II by John Phillips
04 - The Planets, Op. 32 Venus, The Bringer Of Peace by Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and George Hurst
05 - Boys From The South by John Phillips
06 - 33 1/3 by Stomu Yamash'ta
07 - Rhumba Boogie by John Phillips
08 - Try To Remember by The The Kingston Trio
09 - Mandala by Stomu Yamash'ta
10 - America by John Phillips
11 - Wind Words by Stomu Yamash'ta
12 - Jazz by John Phillips

CD 2
01 - One Way by Stomu Yamash'ta
02 - Space Capsule by John Phillips
03 - Bluegrass Breakdown by John Phillips
04 - Desert Shack by John Phillips
05 - Memory Of Hiroshima by Stomu Yamash'ta
06 - Window by John Phillips
07 - Alberto by John Phillips
08 - The Planets, Op. 32 Mars,The Bringer Of War (Excerpt) by Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra and George Hurst
09 - Liar, Liar by John Phillips
10 - Hello Mary Lou by John Phillips
11 - Silent Night by Queen's Hall Light Orchestra & Robert Farnon
12 - Love Is Coming Back by Genevieve Waite and John Phillips
13 - The Man Who Fell To Earth (Demo) by John Phillips

The vinyl version contains the Stomu Yamash'ta and John Phillips tracks only.

Among the tracks in the film that didn’t make this soundtrack release are:

Enfantillages Pittoresques - Composed by Eric Satie - Performed by Frank Glazer
A Fool Such As I & Make The World Go Away - Both performed by Jim Reeves
Blue Bayou - Performed by Roy Orbison
True Love - Performed by Bing Crosby & Grace Kelly
Stardust - Performed by Artie Shaw
Solo Whale - Recorded by Frank Watlington

See also:

VIDEO: 1,000 musicians rock David Bowie classic in Italy
David Bowie box set to include unreleased album The Gouster
David Bowie premieres I Can’t Give Everything Away lyric video
David Lee Roth pays tribute to David Bowie on The Roth Show
Search David Bowie at hennemusic