Thursday, September 29, 2016

David Bowie singles collection Legacy due this fall

A collection of David Bowie’s biggest singles will be featured on “Legacy”, a new compilation due November 11.

The set presents Bowie’s first hit, 1969’s “Space Oddity”, through to his final 2016 singles “Lazarus” and “I Can’t Give Everything Away”, and includes a previously unreleased version of the classic 1971 single, “Life On Mars?”, mixed by its original producer Ken Scott.

Single mixes and radio edits of several Bowie classics are featured, including “Starman”, “The Jean Genie”, “Young Americans,” “Ashes To Ashes”, “Let’s Dance”, “China Girl” and “Modern Love.”

Collaborations with Queen, Mick Jagger, The Pet Shop Boys and The Pat Metheny Group are also included.

“Legacy” will be available as a 1 CD and a Deluxe 2 CD package, with a double vinyl album version due on January 6, 2017.

Born David Jones in London in 1947, the singer issued his first single at the age of 17 and changed his last name to Bowie in 1966 – to avoid confusion with Davey Jones of The Monkees – ahead of the release of his self-titled debut album a year later.

The 1969 single, “Space Oddity”, put Bowie on the map and led to the beginnings of a groundbreaking catalogue that saw the singer push the creative envelope while exploring various genres as a musical chameleon.

The music icon sold an estimated 140 million albums worldwide and was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1996.

Bowie passed away on January 10, just two days after his 69th birthday and the release of his final album, “Blackstar.”

David Bowie

Release date: November 11

CD 1

1. "Space Oddity"
2. "The Man Who Sold The World"
3. "Changes"
4. "Oh! You Pretty Things"
5. "Life On Mars?" (2016 mix)
6. "Starman" (original single mix)
7. "Ziggy Stardust"
8. "Moonage Daydream"
9. "The Jean Genie" (original single mix)
10. "All The Young Dudes"
11. "Drive-In Saturday"
12. "Sorrow"
13. "Rebel Rebel"
14. "Young Americans" (original single edit)
15. "Fame"
16. "Golden Years" (single version)
17. "Sound And Vision"
18. "'Heroes'" (single version)
19. "Boys Keep Swinging"
20. "Ashes To Ashes" (single version)
21. "Fashion" (single version)

CD 2

1. Queen & David Bowie – "Under the Pressure"
2. "Let's Dance" (single version)
3. "China Girl" (single version)
4. "Modern Love" (single version)
5. "Blue Jean"
6. David Bowie with the Pat Metheny Group – "This Is Not America"
7. David Bowie & Mick Jagger – "Dancing In The Street"
8. "Absolute Beginners" (edit)
9. "Jump They Say" (radio edit)
10. David Bowie with the Pet Shop Boys – "Hallo Spaceboy" (PSB Remix)
11. "Little Wonder" (edit)
12. "I'm Afraid Of Americans" (V1 edit)
13. "Thursday's Child" (radio edit)
14. "Slow Burn" (radio edit)
15. "Everyone Says 'Hi'" (edit)
16. "New Killer Star" (radio edit)
17. "Where Are We Now?"
18. "Lazarus" (radio edit)
19. "I Can't Give Everything Away" (radio edit)

See also:

David Bowie: The Man Who Fell To Earth soundtrack to see first release
VIDEO: 1,000 musicians rock David Bowie classic in Italy
David Bowie box set to include unreleased album The Gouster
David Bowie premieres I Can’t Give Everything Away lyric video
Search David Bowie at hennemusic