Thursday, September 22, 2016

VIDEO: Glenn Hughes debuts new single Heavy

Glenn Hughes is debuting a video for “Heavy”, the lead track from his forthcoming album, “Resonate.”

Due for release in Japan on October 28 and on November 4 for the rest of the world, the record marks a return to rock for the bassist/vocalist after working on various projects in recent years, including California Breed and the recently-reunited Black Country Communion.

“It’s my first solo album in 8 years,” says Hughes. “Everybody needs to know that this is absolutely a return to rock music as a solo artist for me. My work is very varied. Groovy, funky, soulful, although the genre has always been rock. But this album is probably THE heaviest record I’ve done in at least 25 years.

“It’s dense. It’s dark. There’s some aggression on this record. Every bloody track is begging to be played live.”

Joining Hughes on the album are his guitarist and album co-producer from Denmark, Søren Andersen, Swedish drummer Pontus Engborg, and Australian keyboard player Lachlan “Lachy” Doley. The set features a guest appearance by Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith on two tracks, including “Heavy.”

"We know each other so well and it's always fun because playing with Glenn, like any real artist, is always trying to grow and change and do new things,” raves Smith. “We have this musical telepathy that only happens when you play and know someone for many years - and that's what a good, creative collaboration is all about. He's a pretty good singer, but he's an even better human being."

"Resonate" will be available on digital, vinyl, standard CD and Deluxe Editions, which adds the bonus track, "Nothing's The Same", and a DVD featuring a "making of" album documentary and music videos for "Heavy" and "Long Time Gone."

A full tracklist for "Resonate" can be found below the video.

Earlier this year, Hughes was inducted into the 2016 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame as a member of Deep Purple.

The bassist is currently playing live dates in South America and will begin a UK tour in early November.

Glenn Hughes

Release date: October 28 (Japan) / November 4 (world)

01. Heavy
02. My Town
03. Flow
04. Let It Shine
05. Steady
06. God Of Money
07. How Long
08. When I Fall
09. Landmines
10. Stumble & Go
11. Long Time Gone
12. Nothing's The Same (deluxe edition bonus track)

See also:

Black Country Communion regroup to begin work on new album
Black Country Communion announce reunion plans
Glenn Hughes reschedules US tour after double knee replacement
Search Glenn Hughes at hennemusic
Search Black Country Communion at hennemusic