Sunday, March 12, 2017

Pearl Jam invite all former members to Rock Hall induction

Pearl Jam have invited all five of their drummers to their Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame induction in New York next month, despite the fact that three of them will not be officially honored by the Cleveland, OH-based institution.

“With the date of the Hall Of Fame event coming, it is just now sinking in what it means to us,” posted the band on social media. “While awards and accolades are understandably subjective and a countless number of our peers have yet to be honored, we do feel fortunate to be recognized and provided the opportunity to reunite with everyone who has been part of the group.

“Specifically the drummers who all left their distinctive mark on our band in the pre-Matt Cameron years. Dave Krusen, Matt Chamberlain, Dave Abbruzzese and Jack Irons are each individually great players who gave their all to the early recordings and live gigs.

“Looking forward to seeing them and all the other musicians on the bill. Have to say, wish H.R. and Perry Farrell were gonna be there too. If nothing else, it makes us feel lucky and appreciative of the nod. The beat goes on — P.J."

Set to be inducted at New York’s Barclays Center on April 7 are the current Pearl Jam lineup of Eddie Vedder, Mike McCready, Stone Gossard, Jeff Ament and Matt Cameron alongside founding member Krusen, while the Rock Hall failed to recognize the work of drummers Abbruzzese, Chamberlain and Irons.

Since Pearl Jam’s 2017 nomination was announced last October, Abbruzzesse has challenged both the band and Rock Hall organizers over the issue.

He joined Pearl Jam in 1991 as the group’s third drummer after Krusen recorded the debut album, “Ten”, and then promptly left for rehab over drinking issues; Chamberlain was brought in for live dates and exited as “Ten” was released while recommending Abbruzzese for the gig.

Abbruzzese toured the debut record and played on 1993’s “Vs.” and 1994’s “Vitalogy”, and was fired prior to the third album’s release. Original Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Irons then came in for the 1994 tour and recorded 1996’s “No Code” and 1998’s “Yield” before leaving, with Soundgarden’s Cameron added to the lineup moving forward.

Neil Young will induct Pearl Jam as part of the Class of 2017 alongside Journey, the Electric Light Orchestra, Yes, Joan Baez and Tupac Shakur.

See also:

Former Pearl Jam drummer challenges 2017 Rock Hall induction snub
Pearl Jam and Journey among 2017 Rock Hall Of Fame inductees
VIDEO: Temple Of The Dog open first tour in Philadelphia
VIDEO: Eddie Vedder sings at Wrigley Field during World Series Game 5
Search Pearl Jam at hennemusic