Thursday, September 7, 2017

AUDIO: Pearl Jam drummer Matt Cameron streams single from solo album debut

Pearl Jam/Soundgarden drummer Matt Cameron is streaming “Time Can’t Wait” as the lead single from his forthcoming debut solo album, “Cavedweller.”

"It's a hard rock stomper, but got a little psychedelic tinge at the end," says Cameron. "One of my main influences has always been (Pink Floyd co-founder) Syd Barrett and this song has a weird sort of psychedelia in there like his music."

Due September 22, the set sees Cameron taking center stage as vocalist and songwriter while surrounding himself with experienced musicians for the project – including the rhythm section of drummer Mark Guiliana and bassist Tim Lefebvre from David Bowie’s 2016 album, “Blackstar.”

"Mark's performance on the title track was kind of mind-blowing," Cameron tells Rolling Stone. "That was kind of what I was hearing for a drum performance, so I just reached out through Instagram or Facebook and he got right back to me. Once he was on board I had a little more confidence to complete the project."

The rocker gained additional confidence in “Cavedweller” after previewing the record for the singers in both of his bands: Chris Cornell and Eddie Vedder.

"The vocal aspect was the toughest part for me," Cameron explains. “I'm pretty limited in terms of what I can do, but it's better for me to do it all as opposed to bringing in a real singer and doing it that way even though my vocal prowess is very limited in comparison to Chris and Eddie."

The album was finished before Cornell passed away in May.

"I played some of it for him last March," says the drummer. "He really liked it. He was always very supportive of me writing music for the band and kind of going for it. That was great. And I played some of it for Eddie and he really liked it, too. That felt great."

Cameron and Pearl Jam will debut their concert film, “Let’s Play Two”, and release its companion soundtrack album on September 29.

Directed by Danny Clinch, the project captures footage from the final two shows of the band’s 2016 North American tour at Wrigley Field in Chicago, IL last August.

Matt Cameron

Release date: September 22

01. Time Can't Wait
02. All At Once
03. Blind
04. Through The Ceiling
05. One Special Lady
06. In The Trees
07. Into The Fire
08. Real And Imagined
09. Unnecessary

See also:

Pearl Jam: Mike McCready previews The Glamour And The Squalor release
VIDEO: Eddie Vedder performs Out Of Sand on Twin Peaks
Pearl Jam to release Let’s Play Two concert film and soundtrack album
Pearl Jam: Mike McCready streams The Glamour And The Squalor score preview
Search Pearl Jam at hennemusic