Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Deep Purple: Ian Gillan solo box set announced

A new 3CD box set highlighting the solo works of Deep Purple frontman Ian Gillan has been announced.

Due November 17, “The Voice Of Deep Purple: The Gillan Years” delivers three of the singer’s projects – 1977’s “Scarabus”, 1988’s “Accidentally On Purpose” and 1990’s “Naked Thunder” – alongside five bonus tracks: "Smoke On The Water", "Black Night" and "Restless" from Gillan; "Child In Time" and "Woman From Tokyo" from Ian Gillan Band, plus an interview with the rocker in Tokyo during the Gillan Japanese tour.

“Scarabus” was the third and final studio album by the Ian Gillan Band.

Gillan was co-billed on “Accidentally On Purpose” with Deep Purple bandmate and bassist Roger Glover.

The rocker issued “Naked Thunder” soon after his exit from Deep Purple in 1989 (he returned in 1992).

Gillan is currently on a break from the road with Deep Purple, who are touring in support of their latest album, “inFinite.”

Produced by Bob Ezrin, Deep Purple will issue a limited gold edition of the project on November 3.

The 2CD digipack release will deliver the original album alongside a previously unreleased 80-minute live show from Hellfest 2017, the biggest metal festival in France.

The concert will also be issued on the 3LP set, “The inFinite Live Recordings, Pt. 1.”

In addition, Deep Purple will release the 97-minute documentary, “From Here to inFinite”, on Blu-ray; it presents, for the first time, the development of the album and a behind-the-scenes look at the inner workings of the band.

Deep Purple will resume their “inFinite – The Long Goodbye Tour” with dates in Europe beginning November 6 in Stockholm, Sweden.

Ian Gillan
"The Voice Of Deep Purple: The Gillan Years"

Release date: November 17

CD 1

01. Gut Reaction
02. Talking To You
03. No Good Luck
04. Nothing But The Best
05. Loving On Borrowed Time
06. Sweet Lolita
07. Nothing To Lose
08. Moonshine
09. Long And Lonely Ride
10. Love Gun
11. No More Cane On The Brazo
12. Smoke On The Water (Bonus Track)
13. Black Night (Bonus Track)

CD 2

01. Scarabus
02. Exhausted
03. Poor Boy Hero
04. Mercury High
05. Pre-Release
06. Slags To Bitches
07. Apathy
08. Mad Elaine
09. Country Lights
10. Fool's Mate
11. Child In Time (Bonus Track)
12. Woman From Tokyo (Bonus Track)

CD 3

01. Clouds And Rain
02. Evil Eye
03. She Took My Breath Away
04. Dislocated
05. Via Miami
06. I Can't Dance To That
07. Can't Believe You Wanna Leave
08. Lonely Avenue
09. Telephone Box
10. I Thought No
11. Cayman Island
12. The Purple People Eater
13. Chet
14. Restless (Bonus Track)
15. Interview - Ian Gillan - Japanese Tour (Bonus Track)

See also:

VIDEO: Black Country Communion premiere Last Song For My Resting Place
Deep Purple release animated video for The Surprising
Glenn Hughes cuts Christchurch show short due to illness
VIDEO: Black Country Communion issue new single Collide
Search Deep Purple at hennemusic
Search Rainbow at hennemusic