Thursday, October 19, 2017

Whitesnake to issue The Purple Tour live package

On November 24, Whitesnake will release “The Purple Tour”, a new package featuring a mix of Deep Purple tracks and classic highlights from the band’s tour in support of “The Purple Album.”

The 2015 project saw frontman David Coverdale re-record classic songs from the Deep Purple’s Mark 3 and Mark 4 records he appeared on: “Burn” (1974), “Stormbringer” (1974) and “Come Taste The Band” (1975).

“The Purple Tour” presented Coverdale in concert alongside a lineup that included guitarists Reb Beach and Joel Hoekstra, bassist Michael Devin, drummer Tommy Aldridge and keyboardist Michele Luppi.

Coverdale says there was never any intention to compete against the original recordings.

“We just wanted to play the damn songs,” explains the rocker. “Each member of the band. brought their incredible individual talents and a real band identity to this music. We’ve all done the best we can with this project with respect to the music, and the legacy of Deep Purple Mk3 and Mk4.”

“The Purple Tour” will be available in a variety of configurations, including CD/Blu-ray, CD/DVD, single CD and 2LP packages.

The double-disc versions feature audio, video and a selection of bonus material, including a new music video for “Burn”, band interviews, and a number of performances not available on the CD or vinyl versions.

A companion book project, “The Purple Tour – A Photographic Journey”, will be published later this year.

Signed by all band members and limited to just 300 copies worldwide, the effort shares exclusive behind-the-scenes photos, notes from the band and a song by song breakdown of the tour’s setlist.

Learn more about the book at

The live collections come on the heels the recent release of multiple editions of an expanded 30th Anniversary reissue of their classic 1987 self-titled album.

“The Purple Tour”

Release date: November 24

CD/DVD and CD/Blu-ray track listing

01. “Burn”
02. “Bad Boys”
03. “Love Ain’t No Stranger”
04. “The Gypsy”
05. “Give Me All Your Love”
06. “Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City”
07. “Mistreated”
08. “You Fool No One”
09. “Soldier of Fortune”
10. “Is This Love”
11. “Fool For Your Loving”
12. “Here I Go Again”
13. “Still of the Night”

DVD/Blu-ray content

01. Concert Video in 5.1 and Stereo
02. “Burn” – Music Video
03. Band Interviews

Bonus 5.1 High Resolution Live Audio

04. “You Keep On Moving”
05. “Lay Down Stay Down”
06. “Lotsanotes”
07. “Stormbringer”

See also:

Whitesnake celebrates 30th anniversary of US No. 1 hit Here I Go Again
Whitesnake release new video for Here I Go Again
Whitesnake stream unreleased version of Is This Love
VIDEO: Whitesnake preview expanded reissue of 1987 self-titled album
Search Whitesnake at hennemusic