Monday, November 6, 2017

VIDEO: Ronnie Montrose streams Color Blind with Sammy Hagar

The team behind Ronnie Montrose are streaming a lyric video for “Color Blind” featuring Sammy Hagar from the recent posthumous release of the late guitarist’s final studio album, “10x10.”

The lead single from the project sees the duo from the original Montrose band joined on the track by Toto guitarist Steve Lukather and the rhythm section of bassist Ricky Phillips (Styx, Bad English) and drummer Eric Singer (Kiss, Alice Cooper).

Phillips oversaw the completion of “10x10” following Montrose’s March 2012 death from a self-inflicted gunshot wound after the pair had laid down basic tracks with Singer while following the guitarist’s concept to record an album of ten songs with ten different singers.

“It’s valuable to have 10x10 be seen as Ronnie’s last work, rather than going and digging up some stuff from his past,” says Hagar. “This was something he truly had a vision for.”

Featured guests on the project include Edgar Winter, Glenn Hughes, Def Leppard guitarist Phil Collen, Aerosmith guitarist Brad Whitford, Joe Bonamassa and Tommy Shaw, among others.

Montrose’s legacy includes working with Van Morrison – for whom he created the iconic guitar riff for the classic song “Wild Night” – and the Edgar Winter Group, where he crafted heavy riffs on songs like “Free Ride” and “Frankenstein.”

The rocker’s 1973 self-titled band debut, “Montrose”, would go on to become a cornerstone of American hard rock, laying the ground work and sonic template for bands like Van Halen and countless others.

Last month, Montrose released expanded, remastered reissues of the debut and 1974’s “Paper Money”, featuring live material from the era.

Ronnie Montrose

“Heavy Traffic” (Eric Martin and Dave Meniketti)
“Love Is an Art” (Edgar Winter and Rick Derringer)
“Color Blind” (Sammy Hagar and Steve Lukather)
“Still Singin’ With the Band” (Glenn Hughes, Phil Collen Jimmy “Z” Zavala)
“Strong Enough” (Tommy Shaw)
“Any Minute” (Mark Farner and Ricky Phillips)
“The Kingdom’s Come Undone” (Ricky Phillips and Joe Bonamassa)
“One Good Reason” (Bruce Turgon and Brad Whitford)
“Head On Straight” (Davey Pattison and Marc Bonilla)
“I’m Not Lying” (Gregg Rolie, Tom Gimbel and Lawrence Gowan)

See also:

Ronnie Montrose streams Heavy Traffic from final studio album
Montrose to release expanded reissue of 1973 debut
AUDIO: Sammy Hagar guests on final album by Ronnie Montrose
Ronnie Montrose memorial concert announced
Search Montrose at hennemusic